Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Sharp wins shortened National FF1600 race two at Anglesey

Sharp wins shortened National FF1600 race two at Anglesey

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: BRSCC

B-M Racing’s Jamie Sharp took his first BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 victory of the season after a crash brought an early end to proceedings in Anglesey race two.

Following his triumph in Saturday’s opener, Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek lined up on pole, but it was Sharp who made the better start to sweep around the outside into the lead before The Banking.

Colin Queen slotted into third, while his Ammonite Motorsport team-mate Shawn Rashid resisted a challenge from Oldfield’s Brandon McCaughan to maintain fourth.

The safety car was deployed at the end of the first lap after Ammonite’s Brindley Kinch was involved in contact at Rocket and spun to a halt on the circuit with rear-left suspension damage.

Five additional minutes were added to the race duration, with the action resuming with eight minutes left on the clock.

Queen moved ahead of Romanek into second, and made a challenge for the lead into Rocket. Sharp remained in front, and then pulled out a one-second advantage as Romanek tried to wrestle back second from Queen, with Rashid joining the battle.

But the race was red-flagged with less than two minutes remaining after a scary incident in the Super Classic category, with Garath Buckingham’s Van Diemen coming to rest on top of Alaric Gordon’s car. Buckingham managed to lift his car to enable Gordon, initially trapped underneath, to climb out – both drivers appearing to be unscathed.

Queen finished second ahead of Romanek and Rashid, with McCaughan spending the whole race in fifth.

Team Dolan’s Ben Cochran was sixth, ahead of Kevin Mills Racing’s Josh le Roux. After his spin in race one Jordan Dempsey made up three-places to eighth for KMR, but conceded further ground to Queen in the championship.

Murray Shepherd was ninth for Andy Powell Racing ahead of Ammonite’s Andre Lafond, who recovered from his race one retirement to take 10th. Dolan’s Morgan Quinn was 11th ahead of KMR’s Alex Vos.

Race result (7 laps) [Super Classic drivers in italics]
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing 16m20.309s
2 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport +0.372s
3 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport +0.748s
4 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport +1.225s
5 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +2.909s
6 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +4.450s
7 Josh le Roux Kevin Mills Racing +5.888s
8 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing +6.803s
9 Murray Shepherd Andy Powell Racing +7.681s
10 Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport +7.852s
11 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +9.939s
12 Alex Vos Kevin Mills Racing +10.614s
13 Tom Nippers +11.145s
14 Davide Meloni B-M Racing +12.161s
15 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan +14.798s
16 John Murphy +21.468s
17 Paul Tucker Tucker Motorsport +23.564s
18 Peter Daly Shaws Motorsport +24.237s
19 Nick Barnes +24.489s
20 Neil Hunt +26.486s
21 Juiceie Bruceie +33.132s
22 Lorna Vickers Shaws Motorsport +33.488s
23 Paul Morcom Souley Motorsport +35.521s
24 Phil Nelson Murphy Motorsport Int. +39.331s
25 John Roberts +42.263s
26 Mike Wales +52.237s
27 Peter Atkinson +53.503s
Ret Stuart Dix +2 laps
Ret Roger Arnold +4 laps
Ret Alaric Gordon
Ret Garth Buckingham Souley Motorsport
Ret Brindley Kinch Ammonite Motorsport
Fastest lap: Romanek, 1m34.332s

National standings
Queen 235   2 Dempsey 212   3 Romanek 172   4 Sharp 159   5 Cochran 148   6 Quinn 146   7 Lafond 123   8 Rashid 123   9 McCaughan 114   10 Meloni 61