Home Featured Schumacher on top in Silverstone Formula 2 practice

Schumacher on top in Silverstone Formula 2 practice

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema Racing’s Mick Schumacher topped the timesheets in free practice for the second Formula 2 weekend at Silverstone.

Schumacher waited until 15 minutes into the 45-minute session to get a significant time on the board.

He went quicker still on another push lap – just two tenths behind Felipe Drugovich’s pole time from last weekend – extending his gap at the top spot.

While last weekend’s feature race winner Nikita Mazepin initially took the top spot away from Schumacher, the Hitech driver was shown to have been extending the track at Stowe. He ended the session 13th.

A flash fire for Trident’s Marino Sato brought out a short red flag, but nobody managed to improve once the session resumed.

Charouz Racing System’s Louis Deletraz was second, just 0.029s behind Schumacher at the end.

DAMS driver Dan Ticktum – the most recent race winner, ended the session third ahead of championship leader Robert Shwartzman – the second Prema driver having a loose panel on his car early on in the session.

Sean Gelael was fifth, ahead of Carlin’s Yuki Tsunoda, and Campos’s Jack Aitken – who spun in the closing stages of the session.

Jehan Daruvala (Carlin), Guanyu Zhou (Virtuosi Racing) and Christian Lundgaard (ART Grand Prix) rounded out the top 10.

Last weekend’s polesitter Drugovich could only finish the session 17th of the 22 starters.

Practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Mick Schumacher Prema 1m39.783s 20
2 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1m39.814s +0.031s 19
3 Dan Ticktum DAMS 1m39.984s +0.201s 19
4 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m40.044s +0.261s 18
5 Sean Gelael DAMS 1m40.152s +0.369s 19
6 Yuki Tsunoda Carlin 1m40.189s +0.406s 19
7 Jack Aitken Campos 1m40.252s +0.469s 17
8 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m40.280s +0.497s 20
9 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m40.283s +0.500s 18
10 Christian Lundgaard ART 1m40.310s +0.527s 19
11 Callum Ilott Virtuosi 1m40.348s +0.565s 18
12 Luca Ghiotto Hitech GP 1m40.350s +0.567s 18
13 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 1m40.370s +0.587s 20
14 Marcus Armstrong ART 1m40.492s +0.709s 16
15 Pedro Piquet Charouz 1m40.599s +0.816s 17
16 Nobuharu Matsushita MP Motorsport 1m40.646s +0.863s 19
17 Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 1m41.055s +1.272s 19
18 Giuliano Alesi HWA 1m41.296s +1.513s 10
19 Marino Sato Trident 1m41.368s +1.585s 11
20 Artem Markelov HWA 1m41.551s +1.768s 19
21 Roy Nissany Trident 1m41.712s +1.929s 19
22 Guilherme Samaia Campos 1m42.716s +2.933s 18