Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Schothorst wins race three at Most

Schothorst wins race three at Most

by Peter Allen
Steijn Schothorst

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Steijn Schothorst claimed the honours in the third and final Formula Renault 2.0 NEC race of the weekend at Most in the Czech Republic.

Starting second on the grid, the Dutch driver got the jump on Andrea Pizzitola to take the lead, where he stayed for the rest of the race.

Alex Albon continued his efforts from the opening two races by climbing from seventh on the grid to take second on the second lap, finishing 1.7 seconds behind Schothorst.

After winning both of the earlier races, Eurocup points leader Oliver Rowland was forced to settle for third place in the finale after starting from fifth.

Oscar Tunjo was fourth ahead of Pizzitola, Kuba Dalewski?and ART pair Nicolas Jamin and Alberto Di Folco. Raoul Owens and Dennis Olsen completed the top ten.

After starting third Jack Aitken fell towards the back due to a first lap incident, recovering to 12th. That was enough to eat a further nine points into the advantage of championship leader Matt Parry, who completed a point-less weekend. Having to start from the back after his first race retirement, he was making his way forward together with Aitken when a puncture forced him to pit and finish a lap down in 26th.

75 points is now the difference between Parry and Aitken, down from 121 at the start of the weekend. 30 points are available from each of the three Zandvoort races in October.

Pos Driver? Team? Time/Gap
1 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing 17 laps in 26:21.425
2 Alex Albon KTR +1.717
3 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport +2.029
4 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +6.744
5 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +13.815
6 Kuba Dalewski JD Motorsport +17.856
7 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +18.482
8 Alberto Di Folco ART Junior Team +24.032
9 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +24.102
10 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +25.550
11 Yu Kanamaru KTR +33.341
12 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +33.471
13 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +43.485
14 Fran Rueda AV Formula +44.780
15 Alex Bosak AV Formula +45.275
16 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +45.635
17 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +45.748
18 Josef Zaruba KEO Racing +46.349
19 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +46.636
20 Christian Malcharek Krenek Motorsport +47.117
21 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +51.978
22 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +54.200
23 Philopaz Armand Fortec Motorsports +1:08.009
24 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +1:22.590
25 Jakub Smiechowski Inter Europol +1:26.144
26 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +1 Lap
Not classified
Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition 13 laps
Thiago Vivacqua ART Junior Team 12 laps
Sam MacLeod Fortec Motorsports 4 laps
Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team 4 laps
Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing 0 laps
Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition 0 laps
Max Biedermann Inter Europol 0 laps