Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy takes eighth FREC pole of season at wet Spa

Saucy takes eighth FREC pole of season at wet Spa

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Formula Regional by Alpine

Gregoire Saucy continued his dominance of the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine in first qualifying at Spa-Francorchamps.

ART Grand Prix driver Saucy will start race two on Sunday from pole position, the fifth he has claimed in succession and eighth in total this season.

After Friday’s running in bright sunshine, today’s first qualifying session was largely run in wet conditions.

With rain clouds threatening overhead, all the drivers took to the circuit as soon as the lights went green to try to get in a dry lap. As they jostled for position around the circuit, an off from Oliver Goethe at Les Combes brought out a red flag before any times had been set.

The interruption gave the teams the chance to put on wet tyres and make minor set-up changes for the remaining 13 minutes of session.

Saucy’s team-mate, Gabriele Mini, briefly topped the timesheets. But Saucy, running right behind him, crossed the line to go fastest with a time of 2:35.363. On his next lap Saucy was blocked by Nicola Marinangeli at Campus. With the rain getting heavier, he was unable to improve further.

David Vidales was fastest of the Prema Powerteam drivers and ran towards the front throughout the session. A late improvement by Mini relegated Vidales to third.

Hadrien David (R-ace GP) maintained his strong form from testing to take fourth. Zane Maloney set the initial pace for R-ace GP with two quick laps in succession. However, he appeared to get caught in traffic on his last lap and had to settle for fifth.

Kas Haverkort (MP Motorsport) and Paul Aron (Prema Powerteam) finished sixth and seventh respectively.

Franco Colapinto recovered from a spin across the tarmac run-off at Pouhon to take eighth for MP Motorsport.

Friday’s pacesetter, Michael Belov, never challenged at the front of the field. After being outside the top 20 with four minutes remaining, the G4 Racing driver finally recovered to take 11th, immediately behind impressive debutant Dexter Patterson (Monolite Racing).

Isack Hadjar, third in the championship, had to make do with 16th place for R-ace GP, with Alex Quinn only 21st for Arden – two spots in front of Prema’s Ferrari junior Dino Beganovic.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 2m35.363s 7
2 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 2m35.476s +0.113s 7
3 David Vidales Prema 2m35.982s +0.619 6
4 Hadrien David R-ace GP 2m36.324s +0.961 6
5 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 2m36.804s +1.441 7
6 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 2m36.849s +1.486 7
7 Paul Aron Prema 2m36.869s +1.506 6
8 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 2m36.964s +1.601 6
9 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 2m37.013s +1.650 6
10 Dexter Patterson Monolite Racing 2m37.112s +1.749 5
11 Michael Belov G4 Racing 2m37.132s +1.769 6
12 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 2m37.142s +1.779 6
13 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 2m37.669s +2.306 7
14 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 2m37.683s +2.320 6
15 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 2m37.792s +2.429 6
16 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 2m37.809s +2.446 6
17 William Alatalo Arden 2m37.854s +2.491 6
18 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 2m37.874s +2.511 6
19 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 2m38.092s +2.729 6
20 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 2m38.272s +2.909 6
21 Alex Quinn Arden 2m38.488s +3.125 6
22 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 2m38.666s +3.303 6
23 Dino Beganovic Prema 2m38.935s +3.572 6
24 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 2m39.267s +3.904 6
25 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 2m40.633s +5.270 6
26 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 2m41.271s +5.908 6
27 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 2m42.710s +7.347 5
28 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 2m43.380s +8.017 6
29 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 2m43.653s +8.290 6
30 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 2m44.871s +9.508 6
31 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 2m44.901s +9.538 6
32 Jasin Ferati KIC Motorsport 2m45.273s +9.910 5
33 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport No time 1