Home Featured Saucy starts F3’s final Valencia test day on top

Saucy starts F3’s final Valencia test day on top

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

The third day of FIA Formula 3 Championship post-season testing at Valencia’s Ricardo Tormo circuit began with less track action than the previous two, as teams became tyre-limited.

With a cap on how many fresh sets of Pirelli tyres can be used, Wednesday’s running wasn’t as fast with some on used rubber or simply setting the car up where its absolute pace was not represented truly on the timesheet.

ART Grand Prix’s Formula Regional Europe champion Gregoire Saucy was the fastest driver in the morning session, moving to the top before the halfway mark of the three-hour session by posting a 1m21.300s lap, and then switching focus to long runs before joining many others in spending a lengthy time in the pits.

Saucy had also been fastest in the first half-hour, usurping Van Amersfoort Racing’s Jack Doohan.

MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet was next to lay down a pace marker, cutting six tenths of a second off of Saucy’s previous benchmark and being comfortably clear of the rest of the field for a few minutes before Saucy went second fastest.

It was a gain of less than a tenth that put Saucy back on top, but nobody was able to match that laptime and Collet actually ended the session in second place with his early 1m21.392s.

Roman Stanek (Trident), Doohan and Franco Colapinto (MP) filled out the top five before the halfway point of the session and remained there, although Doohan had his fastest lap deleted.

Zane Maloney was sixth in the second of Trident’s cars, ahead of Kaylen Frederick (Hitech GP) and Red Bull junior Jak Crawford (Prema).

Test results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m21.300s 54
2 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m21.392s +0.092s 40
3 Roman Stanek Trident 1m21.422s +0.122s 44
4 Jack Doohan Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.436s +0.136s 64
5 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m21.534s +0.234s 55
6 Zane Maloney Trident 1m21.597s +0.297s 43
7 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m21.629s +0.329s 45
8 Jak Crawford Prema 1m21.767s +0.467s 52
9 Paul Aron Prema 1m21.835s +0.535s 52
10 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m21.873s +0.573s 51
11 Reece Ushijima Campos Racing 1m21.877s +0.577s 44
12 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m21.995s +0.695s 42
13 Johnathan Hoggard Hitech GP 1m22.000s +0.700s 37
14 Oliver Rasmussen ART Grand Prix 1m22.011s +0.711s 55
15 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m22.024s +0.724s 38
16 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m22.028s +0.728s 27
17 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m22.045s +0.745s 46
18 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m22.102s +0.802s 52
19 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m22.281s +0.981s 29
20 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.427s +1.127s 49
21 Enzo Trulli Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.443s +1.143s 53
22 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.470s +1.170s 47
23 Alexander Smolyar Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.491s +1.191s 42
24 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m22.542s +1.242s 35
25 Filip Ugran Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.686s +1.386s 55
26 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m22.710s +1.410s 49
27 Nazim Azman Charouz Racing System 1m22.870s +1.570s 59
28 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m23.104s +1.804s 47
29 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m23.506s +2.206s 53
30 Nicola Marinangeli Charouz Racing System 1m23.693s +2.393s 42