Home Formula 4NACAM F4 Kory Enders dominates NACAM F4’s third non-championship 2021 round

Kory Enders dominates NACAM F4’s third non-championship 2021 round

by Ida Wood

Photo: NACAM F4

Scuderia Martiga’s Kory Enders won all three races of NACAM Formula 4’s latest non-championship event at Autodromo Miguel E. Abed.

Nine cars turned up to the circuit, but RPL Racing’s Andres Perez de Lara and Ram Racing’s Alex Berumen skipped races, meaning seven cars completed the triple-header.

Colombian karting graduate Lucas Medina was shown as recording the pole lap of 1m33.557s on timing screens in qualifying, but the Ram Racing driver actually started second for race one behind Enders.

It was then a race of total domination by Enders on Saturday, beating Mexican team-mate Alvaro Zambrano – a former karter – by a massive 48 seconds.

Daniel Forcadell completed the podium a further eight seconds behind, while the last driver on the lead lap was series boss Flavio Abed’s son Emil. While the series claimed it was an impressive debut performance by the youngster, he actually entered the previous non-championship races at MSR Houston and switched teams to RRK Motorsports.

Race two was supposed to take place later on Saturday but was postponed by a day without explanation, and Enders converted pole into another controlling win. This time Medina was second, with Forcadell a distant third again.

The third race was then set to take place a few hours after, but Emil Abed was DJing in event hospitality at the scheduled start time that had briefed to the drivers and so it wasn’t until some time later did race three take place.

Enders had another start-to-finish run, putting half a second between himself and the chasing Medina on the opening lap. Over the next 15 laps he extended that gap to 14.571s, and Forcadell was another 10s back in third.

Valentino Mini dropped out early on, and the Panama-born teenager wasn’t the only retiree as Mariano Martinez also ended his race early.

NACAM F4’s sole ‘championship’ round will take place in Mexico City next weekend in support of the Formula 1 grand prix taking place, but the event consists of only one race right now and it is yet to be declared what the status of the winner will be.

The previous plan had been to have a multi-race weekend with the potential for a ‘NACAM F4 Cup’ combining the results of the two races using the series’ usual points system given it would be too short a run of races to award championship status.

Race 1 (16 laps)
1 Kory Enders Scuderia Martiga 25m15.542s
2 Alvaro Zambrano Scuderia Martiga +48.480s
3 Daniel Forcadell Easy-Shop.com Racing +56.062s
4 Emil Abed RRK Motorsports +1m25.125s
5 Lucas Medina Ram Racing  +1 lap
6 Andres Perez de Lara RPL Racing +1 lap
Ret Valentino Mini RRK Motorsports
Ret Mariano Martinez Ram Racing
DNS Alex Berumen Ram Racing
Pole: Enders, 1m33.557s
Fastest lap: Enders, 1m33.556s

Race 2 (16 laps)
1 Enders 25m25.021s
2 Medina +6.637s
3 Forcadell +23.440s
4 Abed +24.015s
5 Martinez +3 laps
Ret Zambrano
Ret Mini
DNS Perez de Lara
DNS Berumen
FL: Medina, 1m33.797s

Race 3 (16 laps)
1 Enders
2 Medina +14.571s
3 Forcadell +25.342s
4 Abed +40.788s
5 Zambrano +1m26.163s
Ret Martinez
Ret Mini
DNS Perez de Lara
DNS Berumen
FL: Enders, 1m34.974s