Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy saunters to the top again in energetic FREC practice

Saucy saunters to the top again in energetic FREC practice

by Cian Brittle

Photo: FRECA

Gregoire Saucy topped yet another manic Formula Regional European Championship free practice session at the Red Bull Ring.

In a continuation of the morning session’s main storyline, track limits violations were a key theme throughout as 57 laptimes were deleted.

Saucy and Michael Belov began the session as they ended the previous one, with the two quickest times early on, but it was Franco Colapinto that led the session at the halfway point with a 1m26.011s.

Isack Hadjar was then the first driver to post a time sub-1m26s lap, but his time had barely been posted when it was made obsolete by Saucy’s practice-topping time of 1m25.883s.

Belov closed the gap on the Frenchman but could not overhaul him for first place, so the Russian finished second by only seven-hundredths of a second.

Hadjar was third, just ahead of the resurgent Colapinto, who had a difficult FP1 following track limits violations. He was the last of the drivers to manage below 1m26.000s, as Hadrien David also posted a late 1m25.997s to secure fifth place.

The tight and frantic nature of the session was reflected in the rest of the top 10, as the gap between Zane Maloney in sixth and William Alatalo in 10th was just four-hundredths of a second.

Returning champion Gianluca Petecof endured a difficult session, only completing a few laps and ending up 34th and last.

He told Formula Scout: “I had a front suspension failure early on, but we’ll get it fixed and ready for qualifying tomorrow. Looked decent through the early laps.”

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m25.883s 25
2 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m25.959s +0.076s 27
3 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m25.969s +0.086s 26
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m25.990s +0.107s 25
5 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m25.997s +0.114s 30
6 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m26.153s +0.270s 29
7 Alex Quinn Arden 1m26.154s +0.271s 26
8 Paul Aron Prema 1m26.190s +0.307s 26
9 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m26.194s +0.311s 26
10 William Alatalo Arden 1m26.197s +0.314s 23
11 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m26.310s +0.427s 26
12 David Vidales Prema 1m26.343s +0.460s 23
13 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m26.345s +0.462s 23
14 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.373s +0.490s 28
15 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m26.500s +0.594s 23
16 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m26.527s +0.644s 26
17 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m26.569s +0.686s 27
18 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m26.578s +0.695s 24
19 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.685s +0.802s 22
20 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.689s +0.806s 24
21 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m26.786s +0.903s 24
22 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m26.804s +0.921s 26
23 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 1m26.940s +1.057s 22
24 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m26.953s +1.070s 27
25 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m27.008s +1.125s 25
26 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m27.009s +1.126s 23
27 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m27.060s +1.177s 27
28 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 1m27.273s +1.390s 26
29 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m27.387s +1.504s 27
30 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing 1m27.389s +1.506s 23
31 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m27.442s +1.559s 18
32 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m27.520s +1.637s 29
33 Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport 1m28.665s +2.782s 7