Home Featured Saucy back to winning FREC form in first Paul Ricard race

Saucy back to winning FREC form in first Paul Ricard race

by Craig Woollard

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy won the first Formula Regional European Championship race of the weekend at Paul Ricard from pole position.

The 30-minute race was cut short by two minutes before it got underway, as Monaco winner Isack Hadjar had an issue on the grid, prompting a second formation lap.

Saucy made a decent start to assert himself into the lead, but the safety car was brought out before the end of lap one.

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Mari Boya had run wide at Turn 5 and dropped back through the order as he took to an alternative route.

When he was back on track, he found himself racing team-mate Lorenzo Fluxa down the Mistral Straight, but a third car came along and squeezed the team-mates into each other, eliminating both.

With 17 minutes on the clock, racing resumed and Saucy was able to gradually open up a gap to R-ace GP’s Hadrien David.

The gap was around three seconds when, with two minutes to go, the safety car was called upon again for team-mates colliding.

G4 Racing’s Axel Gnos and Alessandro Famularo were squabbling over 21st place when Gnos locked up and tagged Famularo.

This meant the race ended behind the safety car, with the top six unchanged from qualifying as little overtaking occurred.

This meant JD Motorsport wildcard debutant Michael Belov finished third, but the 15 points for the position were awarded to ART GP’s Gabriele Mini in fourth.

R-ace’s other Monaco winner Zane Maloney was fifth, ahead of KIC Motorsport’s Patrik Pasma. Arden’s Alex Quinn made up a position, as did MP’s Kas Haverkort (who scored his first points of 2021) ahead of Thomas ten Brinke.

Arden’s William Alatalo came 10th, while Prema’s Dino Beganovic rounded out the point scorers in 11th.

There was some scrapping further back, with the most dramatic being G4’s Belen Garcia running wide and breaking her front wing. R-ace’s Hadjar did get going from the pitlane and ended the race in 22nd.

MP Motorsport’s Oliver Goethe and Monolite Racing’s Piedro Delli Guanti are under investigation for overtaking under the first safety car period, but they finished outside of the points.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 14 laps
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP +0.329s
3 Michael Belov JD Motorsport +1.070s
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +1.486s
5 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +2.347s
6 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport +2.885s
7 Alex Quinn Arden +3.164s
8 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +4.138s
9 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix +4.807s
10 William Alatalo Arden +6.469s
11 Dino Beganovic Prema +6.934s
12 David Vidales Prema +8.185s
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +8.883s
14 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +8.943s
15 Paul Aron Prema +9.662s
16 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +10.883s
17 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +11.590s
18 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +12.117s
19 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +12.579s
20 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +13.783s
21 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +14.217s
22 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +14.752s
23 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing +15.592s
24 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport +16.428s
25 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +18.185s
26 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +20.441s
27 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP +23.875s
28 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +24.032s
29 Brad Benavides DR Formula +24.508s
30 Lena Buhler R-ace GP +24.845s
31 Belen Garcia G4 Racing +26.136s
Ret Axel Gnos G4 Racing
Ret Alessandro Famularo G4 Racing
Ret Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Saucy, 1m59.306s

Championship standings
Saucy 110   2 Quinn 76   3 Maloney 74   4 David 72   5 Aron 72   6 Hadjar 70   7 Mini 53   8 Vidales 45   9 Alatalo 38   10 Pasma 35