Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Saucy serves up fourth pole of FREC season at Paul Ricard

Saucy serves up fourth pole of FREC season at Paul Ricard

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

ART Grand Prix’s Gregoire Saucy replicated his pace from pre-event testing to take Formula Regional European Championship pole at Paul Ricard on Saturday morning.

The Swiss driver, who took poles at Imola and Barcelona in the first two rounds of the season, never looked seriously challenged around the French track and his 1m57.787s lap that earned him pole was 0.392 seconds up on the next best.

R-ace GP’s Hadrien David was able to go second faster, but Saucy’s team-mates were not able to match what they were capable of in testing and Gabriele Mini ended up qualifying fourth and Thomas ten Brinke qualifying seventh.

Filling the spaces between them included drivers who did carry over their test form, including FREC debutant Michael Belov in third place.

The JD Motorsport driver previously raced in Regional Formula 3 in Asian F3 and the Formula Renault Eurocup, and is joining FREC this weekend after he missed out on a FIA F3 Championship drive. He was the only driver other than David to get within half a second of Saucy’s pace.

R-ace’s Zane Maloney and KIC Motorsport’s Patrik Pasma fill the third row of the grid for race one after qualifying fifth and sixth, while the top 10 is completed by Alex Quinn (Arden), Kas Haverkort (MP Motorsport) and Isack Hadjar (R-ace).

The Prema drivers struggled for pace, with Dino Beganovic the fastest of the team’s three drivers in 12th, just ahead of MP returnee Franco Colapinto.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m57.787s 9
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m58.179s +0.392s 9
3 Michael Belov JD Motorsport 1m58.214s +0.427s 10
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m58.309s +0.522s 9
5 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m58.397s +0.610s 9
6 Patrik Pasma KIC Motorsport 1m58.441s +0.654s 9
7 Thomas ten Brinke ART Grand Prix 1m58.453s +0.666s 9
8 Alex Quinn Arden 1m58.460s +0.673s 9
9 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m58.542s +0.755s 10
10 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m58.570s +0.783s 9
11 William Alatalo Arden 1m58.581s +0.794s 10
12 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m58.648s +0.861s 10
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m58.654s +0.867s 9
14 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m58.673s +0.886s 9
15 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP 1m58.712s +0.925s 10
16 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m58.781s +0.994s 9
17 David Vidales Prema 1m58.862s +1.075s 9
18 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m59.008s +1.221s 10
19 Paul Aron Prema 1m59.135s +1.348s 10
20 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP 1m59.150s +1.363s 10
21 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport 1m59.182s +1.395s 9
22 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.184s +1.397s 9
23 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m59.264s +1.477s 9
24 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m59.343s +1.556s 9
25 Jasin Ferati Monolite Racing 1m59.422s +1.635s 10
26 Alessandro Famularo G4 Racing 1m59.428s +1.641s 10
27 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.491s +1.704s 9
28 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m59.623s +1.836s 10
29 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 1m59.703s +1.916s 10
30 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP 1m59.887s +2.100s 8
31 Tommy Smith JD Motorsport 1m59.968s +2.181s 10
32 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 2m00.127s +2.340s 9
33 Brad Benavides DR Formula 2m00.258s +2.471s 10
34 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport 2m00.349s +2.562s 9
35 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 2m00.402s +2.615s 9