Home Formula RegionalFRegional Asian Championship Ukyo Sasahara ends Asian F3 season with 11th series win

Ukyo Sasahara ends Asian F3 season with 11th series win

by Steve Whitfield

Ukyo Sasahara ended the Asian Formula 3 season with victory at Buriram, as Jack Doohan took a redemptive second place.

Doohan missed out on the title to Joey Alders after suffering punctures in both of the weekend?s earlier races, and after passing Absolute Racing’s Jamie Chadwick on the opening lap he took a comfortable runner-up spot behind poleman Sasahara.

James Yu ran fourth in the early stages but lost out in a multi-car battle to Nikita Mazepin and Mikhael Belov, and a late spin dropped Yu further down the order.

Mazepin finished in fourth, but was given a five second time penalty for driving standards which dropped the Hitech GP driver to eighth.

Belov was promoted to fourth as a result of Mazepin?s penalty, ahead of BlackArts Racing team-mate Yu Kanamaru and Absolute?s Tommy Smith.

New champion Joey Alders finished in seventh, while Thomas Luedi sealed the Masters class title after beating rival Paul Wong.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Ukyo Sasahara Hitech GP 23m17.444s
2 Jack Doohan Pinnacle Motorsport +3.426s
3 Jamie Chadwick Absolute Racing +4.872s
4 Mikhael Belov BlackArts Racing +10.197s
5 Yu Kanamaru BlackArts Racing +10.836s
6 Tommy Smith Absolute Racing +12.291s
7 Joey Alders BlackArts Racing +12.767s
8 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP +14.352s
9 James Yu Zen Motorsport +33.351s
10 Pietro Fittipaldi Pinnacle Motorsport +37.432s
11 Thomas Leudi BlackArts Racing +1m02.863s
12 Paul Wong Zen Motorsport +1m08.127s
13 Alessio Deledda Hitech GP +1 lap
DNS Leonard Hoogenboom Absolute Racing
DNS Dominic Ang Absolute Racing
DNS Alister Yoong Zen Motorsport
Fastest lap: Sasahara, 1m32.403s

Championship standings
1 Alders 266? ?2 Doohan 229? ?3 Mazepin 186? ?4 Chadwick 139? ?5 Fittipaldi 119? ?6 Devlin DeFrancesco 101? ?7 Sebastian Fernandez 96? ?8 Kanamaru 104? ?9? Yu 70? ?10 Smith 48