Home Formula RegionalFRegional Asian Championship Joey Alders wins Asian F3 title with race to spare at Buriram

Joey Alders wins Asian F3 title with race to spare at Buriram

by Steve Whitfield

Joey Alders claimed the Asian Formula 3 title with one race to spare at Buriram after another late puncture punished Jack Doohan.

In a remarkable repeat of Saturday?s race, Pinnacle Motorsport?s Doohan suffered another right-rear puncture in the closing stages having again dominated the race from pole position.

Outgoing champion Ukyo Sasahara finished first on the road ahead of Asian F3 debutant Mikhael Belov and Pinnacle?s Pietro Fittipaldi.

Time penalties for Belov and Fittipaldi for ignoring track limits resulted in Absolute Racing?s Jamie Chadwick being promoted to second.

Doohan led away at the start from Sasahara, while Fittipaldi gained two places on the opening lap to run in third.

Chadwick, Alders and Belov spent the first half of the race battling for fourth. After overtaking BlackArts Racing team-mate Alders, Belov passed Chadwick with a brave move around the outside of Turns 5 and 6.

Belov took third from Fittipaldi in the closing stages and was promoted to second behind Sasahara after Doohan?s race-ending puncture.

Time penalties has also been issued out in race one to Nikita Mazepin, dropping the Hitech GP driver from second to fifth.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Ukyo Sasahara Hitech GP 23m20.012s
2 Jamie Chadwick Absolute Racing +5.481s
3 Joey Alders BlackArts Racing +8.419s
4 Pietro Fittipaldi Pinnacle Motorsport +9.463s
5 Mikhael Belov BlackArts Racing +11.827s
6 Yu Kanamaru BlackArts Racing +14.204s
7 James Yu Zen Motorsport +28.203s
8 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP +28.323s
9 Tommy Smith Absolute Racing +28.783s
10 Alessio Deledda Hitech GP +34.367s
11 Thomas Leudi BlackArts Racing +44.415s
12 Paul Wong Zen Motorsport +45.381s
13 Jack Doohan Pinnacle Motorsport +2 laps
DNS Leonard Hoogenboom Absolute Racing
DNS Dominic Ang Absolute Racing
DNS Alister Yoong Zen Motorsport
Fastest lap: Belov, 1m32.260s

Championship standings
1 Alders 258? ?2 Doohan 204? ?3 Mazepin 180? ?4 Chadwick 121? ?5 Fittipaldi 117? ?6 Devlin DeFrancesco 101? ?7 Sebastian Fernandez 96? ?8 Kanamaru 92? ?9? Yu 66? ?10 Smith 38