Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 1.6FR1.6 NEC Roy Geerts victorious in first Zandvoort race

Roy Geerts victorious in first Zandvoort race

by Gruz David
Photo: Chris Schotanus

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Formula Renault 1.6 frontrunner Roy Geerts took his third win of his 2013 campaign at Zandvoort.

Starting from second, Geerts managed to steal the lead from Larry ten Voorde?early on.

The Dutchman was not able to pull away from his compatriot, but did not flinch under pressure, taking the checkered flag narrowly ahead of ten Voorde.

Championship leader Martin Rump took third, having passed Jan Schwitter on lap seven. The latter lost lots of time over the following laps, tumbling down to ninth. at the line.

As such, Janneau Esmeijer and Pontus Fredricsson came home fourth and fifth respectively. Paul Blomqvist finished sixth, closely followed by Florian Janits. Lukas Sundahl secured eighth ahead of Schwitter, while Brian Kroon rounded out the top ten.

Following Geerts’ victory, he trails championship leader Rump by ten points.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Roy Geerts Stuart Racing Team 21:38.651
2 Larry ten Voorde Stuart Racing Team +0.595
3 Martin Rump Scuderia Nordica +4.476
4 Janneau Esmeijer Provily Racing +10.833
5 Pontus Fredricsson Trackstar Racing +14.457
6 Paul Blomqvist Trackstar Racing +22.439
7 Florian Janits Walter Lechner Racing +25.281
8 Lukas Sundahl Sundahl Racing +25.845
9 Jan Schwitter Walter Lechner Racing +27.922
10 Brian Kroon Provily Racing +34.290
11 Oliver Soderstrom Scuderia Nordica +36.569
12 Patricio O’Ward Provily Racing +47.577
13 Tommy van Erp Van Amersfoort Racing +47.948
14 Karl-Gustav Annus Scuderia Nordica +48.471