Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Rowland holds off championship rival Gasly to extend lead

Rowland holds off championship rival Gasly to extend lead

by Ant Musker

Photo: World Series by Renault

Oliver Rowland extended his Eurocup 2.0 championship lead to 17 points with a hard fought victory in race two at Speilburg.

The Racing Steps driver started from pole and led the whole way despite fierce pressure from behind. Rowland?s closest rival for the title Pierre Gasly started alongside him but the Manor MP driver held off the early attempt to get ahead. Gasly continued to apply pressure to Rowland out in front as the pair battled side to side and noise to tail with one another.

Rowland?s inability to createp left a trail behind him as Alexander Albon looked to take advantage with the front two fighting it out. However he failed to do so and slipped down to seventh.

Ed Jones began to catch the front pair but neither he nor Gasly could pass for the lead as Rowland kept calm despite the fact less than three seconds covered the top five cars in the latter stages of the race.

So it was Rowland who took his third victory of the year, ahead of Gasly, who pressured him until the very last lap. Jones recorded a second consecutive podium, closely followed by Jake Dennis who, likewise, repeated his result from race one.

Albon managed to fight back up to arrive at the flag in fifth as he overtook sixth-place finisher Oscar Tunjo with Luca Ghiotto crossing the line seventh.

Albon’s teammate at KTR Ignazio D’Agosto struggled for pace and dropped down to eighth place while Levin Amweg will be pleased with his charge from sixteenth place to come home ninth. Steijn Schothorst rounded off the top ten.

Race result
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 18 laps in 27:37.772
2 Pierre Gasly Tech 1 Racing +0.658
3 Ed Jones Fortec Motorsports +1.788
4 Jake Dennis Fortec Motorsports +2.904
5 Alexander Albon KTR +2.977
6 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +3.155
7 Luca Ghiotto Prema Powerteam +4.614
8 Ignazio D’Agosto KTR +6.290
9 Levin Amweg Jenzer Motorsport +6.705
10 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing +6.863
11 William Vermont ARTA Engineering +9.249
12 Nyck de Vries Koiranen GP +9.791
13 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +10.277
14 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team +11.228
15 Aurelien Panis Prema Powerteam +11.964
16 Kevin Jorg Jenzer Motorsport +12.867
17 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +17.535
18 Javier Merlo Manor MP Motorsport +22.136
19 Leo Roussel ARTA Engineering +22.718
20 Alex Baron ART Junior Team +23.046
21 Matthieu Vaxiviere Tech 1 Racing +24.798
22 Benjamin Bailly RC Formula +30.791
23 Yu Kanamaru KTR +37.952
24 Marcos Siebert Jenzer Motorsport +46.945
25 Alex Bosak Interwetten.com Racing +47.466
26 Egor Orudzhev Tech 1 Racing +1 lap
27 Mikko Pakari Fortec Motorsports +2 laps
Not classified
Alejandro Abogado Interwetten.com Racing +3 laps
Guilherme Silva Koiranen GP +8 laps
Bruno Bonifacio Prema Powerteam +8 laps
Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +9 laps
Victor Franzoni Koiranen GP +12 lps
Roman Mavlanov RC Formula +15 laps
DNS Simon Tirman ARTA Engineering