Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Rowland doubles up at Most in second NEC race

Rowland doubles up at Most in second NEC race

by Peter Allen
Oliver Rowland

Photo: Chris Schotanus

Oliver Rowland led every lap once again as he picked up his second win of the Formula Renault NEC weekend at Most in the Czech Republic.

Rowland finished 4.899 seconds clear of second-placed Esteban Ocon, who leapt up from sixth on the grid on the first lap.

Jack Aitken finished fourth ahead of Steijn Schothorst. Points leader Matt Parry ran fifth during the opening laps but, as in race one, he would fail to score as he slipped down to the back on lap seven, recovering only to 23rd place. His dramas have slashed his points advantage over Aitken from 121 to 74 in two races, and mean the title will not be decided until Zandvoort.

Oscar Tunjo would finish fifth, after going to opposite way of Lotus junior stable-mate Ocon on lap one and slipping from second to sixth. The Josef Kaufmann Racing quartet of Schothorst, Tunjo, Dennis Olsen and Gustav Malja followed each other across the line.

Andrea Pizzitola was eighth ahead of Alex Albon, who again made up significant ground after starting 17th. ART’s Tanart Sathienthirakul completed the top ten.

Race results
Pos Driver? Team Time/Gap
1 Oliver Rowland Manor MP Motorsport 17 laps in 26:10.002
2 Esteban Ocon ART Junior Team +4.899
3 Jack Aitken Fortec Motorsports +8.472
4 Steijn Schothorst Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.006
5 Oscar Tunjo Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.689
6 Dennis Olsen Josef Kaufmann Racing +13.033
7 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +14.036
8 Andrea Pizzitola ART Junior Team +20.001
9 Alex Albon KTR +21.353
10 Tanart Sathienthirakul ART Junior Team +24.500
11 Jakub Dalewski JD Motorsport +26.302
12 Nicolas Jamin ART Junior Team +26.667
13 Samuel MacLeod Fortec Motorsports +26.988
14 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Racing +27.484
15 Alfonso Celis Fortec Competition +28.153
16 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +30.846
17 Ryan Tveter Fortec Competition +36.505
18 Alberto Di Folco ART Junior Team +37.424
19 Yu Kanamaru KTR +38.656
20 Fran Rueda AV Formula +39.008
21 Roman Beregech Fortec Competition +39.513
22 Philopaz Armand Fortec Motorsports +40.677
23 Matt Parry Fortec Motorsports +42.196
24 Juan Branger JD Motorsport +44.739
25 Cedric Freiburghaus SL Formula +45.225
26 Thiago Vivacqua ART Junior Team +45.833
27 Max Biedermann Inter Europol +54.744
28 Julio Moreno JTR Racing +55.358
29 Josef Zaruba KEO Racing +1:00.858
30 Alex Bosak AV Formula +1 Lap
Not classified
Christian Malcharek Krenek Motorsport 11 laps
Corinna Kamper Fortec Competition 1 lap
Jakub Smiechowski Inter Europol 0 laps
Andres Mendez Mark Burdett Racing 0 laps