Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Gunther takes another victory at Lausitz

Gunther takes another victory at Lausitz

by Gruz David

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Having taken his first victory in ADAC Formel Masters on Saturday, Maximilian Gunther continued his best weekend to date, converting another pole into a win after a close-fought battle against Alessio Picariello.

Championship leader Picariello started from second and spent the whole race less than one second behind Gunther, however, he was never able to make a move on the 16-year-old rookie, completing a Mucke 1-2 at the checkered flag.

After the start,?Hendrik Grapp was into third position, yet he soon found himself under attack from Red Bull junior Beitske Visser. When the 18-year-old Dutch driver tried to finally overtake Grapp, the latter marginally forced Visser off-track, with the resulting damage leading to her retirement. Formula BMW Talent Cup champion Marvin Dienst picked up the spoils of war, taking third and staying in that position until the checkered flag.

Frontrunner Nicolas Beer finished fourth, closely followed by his Swiss teammate Ralph Boschung. As Visser’s race ended prematurely, Mikkel Jensen finished as the best Lotus driver in sixth. Fabian Schiller and Stefan Riener finished seventh and eighth respectively, as Indy Dontje and Red Bull junior Callan O’Keeffe completed the top ten.

Usual frontrunner Jason Kremer suffered an early retirement during the race – his third in the last four outings.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 25:22.903
2 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. + 0.605
3 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing +?18.087
4 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing +?19.770
5 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport +?20.216
6 Mikkel Jensen Lotus +?24.715
7 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +?25.263
8 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing +?25.377
9 Indy Dontje Lotus +?26.970
10 Callan O’Keeffe Lotus +?27.338
11 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +?27.965
12 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +?28.015
13 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +?32.567
14 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport +?33.160
15 Kim Giersiepen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +?40.446
16 Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport +?47.639
17 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +?48.031
18 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering +?49.115
19 Marcel Lenerz JBR Motorsport & Engineering +?57.504
Not classified
Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport +?9 Laps
Beitske Visser Lotus +?14 Laps