Home News Rowe holds off Porto for fourth USF Pro victory

Rowe holds off Porto for fourth USF Pro victory

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Myles Rowe maintains his lead at the front of the USF Pro 2000 championship standings with his fourth victory of the 2023 season at Mid-Ohio. 

Rowe came under pressure from Kiko Porto in the tail end of the race but he managed to hold onto a small lead over Porto to take the victory. 

It was Michael d’Orlando keeping Rowe under pressure in the opening laps before an off for Jackson Lee brought out the safety car. That gave Porto the opportunity to attack d’Orlando, managing to get past the race one winner on the restart. D’Orlando tried to fight back, only to come under attack from Salvador de Alba and Jace Denmark. 

At the front of the field, Rowe had pulled a gap and was now putting in consistent lap times as Porto struggled to close the gap. Porto was the quicker driver for much of the race, but couldn’t get closer than a couple of car lengths from d’Orlando. 

In the closing stages of the race, Porto managed to bring d’Orlando and de Alba with him into the battle for the lead. The trio behind Rowe took it in turns attacking and defending from one another, occasionally breaking out into battling pairs. All the while, Rowe remained consistent with a gap of roughly half a second to Porto. 

Porto ended the race under attack from d’Orlando, managing to hold him off as Rowe took the chequered flag 0.6594s ahead. 

De Alba picked up third ahead of Denmark, who spent the second half of the race battling to keep Reece Ushijima behind him. 

Meanwhile, it was another race to forget for Francesco Pizzi, who came into the round second in the champinship standings. He struggled to make up positions from his low position, before a spin late in the race undid what progress he had made and dropped him back to P17. 

Joel Granfors faired slightly better, finishing ninth behind Louka St-Jean and Bijoy Garg. Lirim Zendelli took 10th, ahead of Ricardo Escotto and Jack William Miller. 

Race result (30 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Myles Rowe Pabst Racing 41m32.7865s
2 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +0.6594s
3 Michael d’Orlando Turn 3 Motorsport +0.9190s
4 Salvador de Alba Exclusive Autosport +1.4370s
5 Jace Denmark Pabst Racing +3.1645s
6 Reece Ushijima JHDD +4.2480s
7 Louka St.-Jean Turn 3 Motorsport +4.8611s
8 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing +5.4955s
9 Joel Granfors Exclusive Autosport +5.9575s
10 Lirim Zendeli TJ Speed +8.2855s
11 Ricardo Escotto JHDD +10.3137s
12 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +10.8625s
13 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Exclusive Autosport +11.7965s
14 Christian Weir TJ Speed +18.3002s
15 Jonathan Browne Turn 3 Motorsport +20.1665s
16 Nicholas Monteiro NeoTech Motorsport +26.3983s
17 Francesco Pizzi TJ Speed +33.7581s
18 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing +31.9644s
19 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport +49.0650s
Ret Jackson Lee Turn 3 Motorsport
Fastest lap: Porto, 1m19.1691s

Championship standings
Rowe 251   2 Granfors 195   3 Porto 187   4 de Alba 173   5 Pizzi 171   6 d’Orlando 169  7 Denmark 166   8 Browne 152   9 Miller 147   10 Zendeli 142