Home Formula FordNational FF1600 Romanek beats Sharp in close National FF1600 encounter at Anglesey

Romanek beats Sharp in close National FF1600 encounter at Anglesey

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: BRSCC

Oldfield Motorsport’s Lucas Romanek took his second BRSCC National Formula Ford 1600 victory of the season at Anglesey after a last-lap pass on Jamie Sharp.

Kevin Mills Racing’s Jordan Dempsey was also involved in the lead battle, but could only finish 11th after a late spin while battling with Ammonite Motorsport’s Colin Queen, who profited to move to the top of the standings.

Dempsey made the better start to move ahead of polesitter Sharp into turn one, while Romanek came out on top in an opening lap tussle with Queen for third.

But Queen’s team-mate Andre Lafond retired with rear-left suspension damage in a collision at Rocket corner with Team Dolan’s Morgan Quinn, who tumbled to 20th.

B-M Racing’s Sharp regained the lead from Dempsey at Rocket on lap two, as a four-way scrap developed at the front.

Romanek eventually drove around the outside of Dempsey for second and then took first from Sharp at Rocket later in the lap.

Sharp made the same move next time by to wrestle back the lead with less than two laps remaining, while Queen pounced behind to take third away from Dempsey.

A few corners later, Dempsey made a lunge back up the inside but spun and dropped to 12th before making up one position.

On the final tour, Romanek drew alongside Sharp once more into Rocket and completed the move, before fending off Sharp through the last few corners to triumph by 0.120 seconds.

Queen was a further 0.25s behind in third, ahead of team-mate Shawn Rashid. Brandon McCaughan was fifth for Oldfield ahead of KMR’s debutant Josh le Roux.

Ben Cochran was seventh for Dolan ahead of KMR’s other newcomer Alex Vos, while Quinn recovered to 10th.

Race result (11 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lucas Romanek Oldfield Motorsport 15m54.878s
2 Jamie Sharp B-M Racing +0.120s
3 Colin Queen Ammonite Motorsport +0.369s
4 Shawn Rashid Ammonite Motorsport +1.054s
5 Brandon McCaughan Oldfield Motorsport +4.553s
6 Josh le Roux Kevin Mills Racing +10.950s
7 Ben Cochran Team Dolan +12.375s
8 Alex Vos Kevin Mills Racing +21.915s
9 Murray Shepherd Andy Powell Racing +22.352s
10 Morgan Quinn Team Dolan +22.705s
11 Jordan Dempsey Kevin Mills Racing +23.697s
12 Tom Nippers +28.622s
13 Gabe Tesch Team Dolan +29.063s
14 Davide Meloni B-M Racing +1 lap
Ret Andre Lafond Ammonite Motorsport
Fastest lap: Sharp, 1m34.075s

National standings
Queen 208   2 Dempsey 200   3 Quinn 143   4 Cochran 130   5 Lafond 120   6 Romanek 146   7 Sharp 127   8 Rashid 101   9 McCaughan 94   10 Gilkes 56