Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Roman Stanek scores second ADAC F4 win in wet Nurburgring finale

Roman Stanek scores second ADAC F4 win in wet Nurburgring finale

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gruppe C Photography/ADAC

Sauber junior driver Roman Stanek claimed his second ADAC Formula 4 win in a wet third and final race at the Nurburgring.

Earlier heavy rain caused the race to be delayed and started behind the safety car, which remained out for three laps before the pack was released.

Stanek led the field from reversed-grid pole, while Dennis Hauger immediately moved up from fourth to second, benefitting when Joshua Durksen ran wide at Turn 5.

Having continued to pursue Hauger, Durksen would run even wider at the same point six laps later and crash into the tyre barriers, bringing the safety car back out.

The race resumed with around five minutes left on the clock, but the safety car was immediately called upon again after a tangle between Gianluca Petecof and Gregoire Saucy over sixth that took out the hapless Lucas Alecco Roy and left Petecof in the barriers at Turn 4.

The race ended under the safety car, giving Stanek the win ahead of Hauger and Oliver Rasmussen.

Alessandro Ghiretti was fourth ahead of US Racing team-mate Arthur Leclerc, as the Sauber junior squad’s championship leader Theo Pourchaire came close to losing his 100 per cent scoring record this season.

Pourchaire was close behind Leclerc when he ran into the gravel on the outside of the final corner on lap seven, dropping him to 15th.

He recovered to 11th as the race was neutralised for the final time, and thus scored one point, as seventh-place finisher Hadrien David is a guest driver ineligible for points.

That means Pourchaire’s lead is now 53 points over Leclerc. Stanek has climbed from eighth to third over the weekend, with Ghiretti making it an all-US Racing top-four, one point ahead of Van Amersfoort’s Hauger.


Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Roman Stanek US Racing 30m45.010s
2 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing +0.431s
3 Oliver Rasmussen Prema Racing +0.766s
4 Alessandro Ghiretti US Racing +1.000s
5 Arthur Leclerc US Racing +1.879s
6 Paul Aron Prema Racing +2.437s
7 Hadrien David R-ace GP +3.102s
8 Mikhael Belov R-ace GP +3.248s
9 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +4.696s
10 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +4.696s
11 Theo Pourchaire US Racing +5.009s
12 Sebastian Estner Van Amersfoort Racing +6.839s
13 Nico Gohler Mucke Motorsport +7.560s
14 Laszlo Toth R-ace GP +8.214s
15 Gianluca Petecof Prema Racing +3 laps
16 Lucas Alecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +3 laps
17 Joshua Durksen Mucke Motorsport +6 laps
Fastest lap: Pourchaire, 1m41.735sChampionship standings
1?Pourchaire 189? ?2?Leclerc 136???3?Stanek 129? ?4?Ghiretti 122? ?5?Hauger 121? ?6?Petecof 101? ?7?Aron 99? ?8?Niklas Krutten 93? ?9?Belov 73? ?10?Rasmussen 70