Home Formula 3BRDC British F3 Ayrton Simmons wins third Silverstone BRDC British F3 race

Ayrton Simmons wins third Silverstone BRDC British F3 race

by Peter Allen

Photo: Sarah Warwick

Ayrton Simmons took his third BRDC British Formula 3 win of the season in the final race of the weekend at Silverstone, defeating his former Formula 4 rival Kiern Jewiss.

Just as in race one, Jewiss started from pole but was beaten to the first corner by his fellow front-row starter, with Simmons building a lead of 0.967 seconds by the end of lap one.

That was the biggest that the Chris Dittmann Racing driver’s lead would be all race, but he was able to respond to mid-race pressure from Jewiss and seal the win.

The result helps to keep Simmons’ title hopes alive heading to the final round at Donington Park next month, bringing him to within just nine points of second-placed Johnathan Hoggard.

Clement Novalak will take a 52-point advantage into the deciding round however after the Carlin driver finished fourth on the tail of Neil Verhagen.

The two drivers had started on the fourth row of the grid, with Verhagen moving from eighth to third on lap one before keeping Novalak at bay.

Hoggard meanwhile lost out at the start from third on the grid and couldn’t find a way back past Novalak, instead having to settle for fifth.

Hampus Ericsson was sixth ahead of Ulysse de Pauw, Lucas Petersson and Josh Mason, with Kaylen Frederick shuffled back to 10th after climbing to seventh at the start.

Race one winner Sasakorn Chaimongkol finished a lap down after pitting for repairs following lap one contact with Benjamin Pedersen.


Race result (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing 19m27.763s
2 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +0.546s
3 Neil Verhagen Double R Racing +3.808s
4 Clement Novalak Carlin +4.453s
5 Johnathan Hoggard Fortec Motorsports +4.808s
6 Hampus Ericsson Double R Racing +7.299s
7 Ulysse de Pauw Douglas Motorsport +8.031s
8 Lucas Petersson Carlin +11.854s
9 Josh Mason Lanan Racing +12.775s
10 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +15.929s
11 Manuel Maldonado Fortec Motorsports +17.042s
12 Nazim Azman Chris Dittmann Racing +20.049s
13 Nico Varrone Hillspeed +21.496s
14 Pavan Ravishankar Double R Racing +22.016s
15 Kris Wright Fortec Motorsports +26.641s
16 ?Benjamin Pedersen Douglas Motorsport +1m09.458s
17 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed +1 lap
Fastest lap:?Simmons, 1m56.223s
Championship standings
1?Novalak 463? ?2?Hoggard 411? ?3?Simmons 402? ?4?Jewiss 360? ?5?De Pauw 301? ?6?Verhagen 295? ?7?Maldonado 288? ?8?Frederick 267? ?9?Chaimongkol 257? ?10?Ericsson 254