Home Formula 4Danish F4 Reigning champion Hoe heads Danish F4 practice at Jyllandsringen

Reigning champion Hoe heads Danish F4 practice at Jyllandsringen

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ida Wood

Mads Hoe is back at it in his Formula 5 car as he topped Danish Formula 4 practice at Jyllandsringen.

The driver-team boss was the first into the 1m09s early in practice, heading STEP Motorsport’s points leader Julius Dinesen.

Hoe’s benchmark stood for almost 10 minutes before Team FormulaSport’s Theodor Jensen set a 1m09.137s to go the top while many drivers ended their first runs on old tyres they had used in the previous round.

Jensen trimmed 0.033s off his best as the returning Sebastian Gravlund and Mika Abrahams broke into the 1m09s, then with four minutes to go Dinesen moved ahead with the first lap of the day in the 1m08s. Moments later Hoe improve to 1m09.236s, then with his penultimate lap set the pace at 1m08.807s, 0.125 seconds faster than Dinesen.

Gravlund improved by a tiny margin to go fourth fastest behind Jensen, but was over half a second off the pace and Team FSP’s Mika Abrahams was the last driver within a second of Hoe as most ran on the worst set of tyres they were carrying over from the Sturup Raceway round.

Victor Nielsen was a lonely sixth place on pace, then Alyx Coby – who almost had a stall – and Magnus Pedersen were a closely matched seventh and eighth ahead of Frederik Stena.

Hoe’s team-mate and sister Mille did do a full run but her car was not fitted with a functioning transponder and so she recorded no laptimes.

Free practice results [F5 entrants in italics]

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Mads Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport 1m08.807s 12
2 Julius Dinesen STEP Motorsport 1m08.932s +0.125s 14
3 Theodor Jensen Team FormulaSport 1m09.104s +0.297s 13
4 Sebastian Gravlund Team FormulaSport 1m09.388s +0.581s 14
5 Mika Abrahams Team FSP 1m09.475s +0.668s 12
6 Victor Nielsen STEP Motorsport 1m09.892s +1.085s 12
7 Alyx Coby Team FSP 1m10.711s +1.904s 13
8 Magnus Pedersen MP Racing 1m10.755s +1.948s 14
9 Frederik Stena SD Racing 1m10.855s +2.048s 10
10 Lind Sonderskov Sonderskov Motorsport 1m11.310s +2.503s 10
11 Aurelia Nobels STEP Motorsport 1m11.314s +2.507s 13
12 Peter Henriksen Henriksen Racing 1m13.109s +4.302s 13
13 Michella Rasmussen Henriksen Racing 1m16.279s +7.474s 12
14 Mille Hoe Mads Hoe Motorsport no time