Home Featured Aron picks up second Zandvoort F3 win after Ticktum and Schumacher clash

Aron picks up second Zandvoort F3 win after Ticktum and Schumacher clash

by Tim Lumb

Prema’s Ralf Aron picked up his second European Formula 3 win of the weekend at Zandvoort after emerging from a first-corner clash with Dan Ticktum and Mick Schumacher.

In similar fashion to how he took the lead in the first race, Aron got a better start than pole-sitter Ticktum and claimed the inside line at the first corner.

As Aron moved left to take up the racing line, Ticktum was sandwiched between his car and that of Mick Schumacher, who also got a good start from third.

Schumacher ended up fired off track and into the gravel trap, where his race ended.

Prema still took control of all three podium positions as Marcus Armstrong and Guan Yu Zhou also got past Ticktum after the restart.

Armstrong kept within one second of Aron for the majority of the race but dropped back slightly during the final few minutes.

The victory moves Aron up into second in the standings behind Armstrong, and just ahead of Motopark’s Ticktum, who lost a handful of positions during the race to eventually finish in sixth.

After running in second for the opening 10 minutes he fell down to fourth behind Armstrong and Zhou, and then with four minutes to go quickly lost both fourth and fifth position to Hitech GP’s Alex Palou and Carlin’s Ferdinand Habsburg, fifth equalling the latter’s best result of the season.

Robert Shwartzman?was one second down the road from Ticktum in seventh for Prema, while?Ticktum’s Motopark team-mates took the final three points positions. Juri Vips finished less than four-tenths of a second ahead of Fabio Scherer in seventh, with Marino Sato further behind after losing a spot to Scherer in the middle of the race.

Along with Schumacher, Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala and Ameya Vaidyanathan and Hitech’s Enaam Ahmed and Ben Hingeley failed to finish the race in first-lap incidents.


Race results (22 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ralf Aron Prema 35m59.714s
2 Marcus Armstrong Prema +1.684s
3 Guan Yu Zhou Prema +2.524s
4 Alex Palou Hitech GP +3.659s
5 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin +5.509s
6 Dan Ticktum Motopark +6.853s
7 Robert Shwartzman Prema +7.879s
8 Juri Vips Motopark +9.552s
9 Fabio Scherer Motopark +9.908s
10 Marino Sato Motopark +13.034s
11 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark +15.664s
12 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin +16.050s
13 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin +16.763s
14 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark +18.207s
15 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing +18.936s
16 Julian Hanses ma-con +22.083s
17 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +24.861s
18 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing +25.420s
19 Petru Florescu Fortec Motorsports +28.516s
Ret Jehan Daruvala Carlin
Ret Mick Schumacher Prema
Ret Enaam Ahmed Hitech GP
Ret Ben Hingeley Hitech GP
Ret Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin
Fastest Lap: Armstrong, 1m30.320s

Championship Standings
?Armstrong 131? ?2 Aron 126.5? ?3 Ticktum 118? ?4 Zhou 112? ?5 Ahmed 87? ?6 Vips 82? ?7 Palou 64? ?8 Schumacher 64? ?9 Shwartzman 59? ?10 Daruvala 56.5