Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Quinn quickest in Hockenheim Eurocup free practice

Quinn quickest in Hockenheim Eurocup free practice

by Bethonie Waring

Arden Motorsport’s Alex Quinn topped the times in Formula Renault Eurocup free practice at the Hockenheimring.

Quinn was second fastest in the first free practice, behind championship leader Victor Martins, before the positions were reversed in the quicker FP2.

Track activity was delayed due to heavy fog in the morning, and the first free practice session was reduced to just 30 minutes.

Caio Collet set the pace early on and was the first driver to set a time sub 1m40s, but dropped down the order as others found improvements.

Halfway through the session, David Vidales topped the order, ahead of Franco Colapinto and Hadrien David.

Martins eventually claimed the top spot in the closing stages of the session with a 1m37.375s lap.

Quinn had been consistently towards the front of the field throughout the session but, after the initial laps, would never hold the top spot. His final lap of the session was enough to put him second quickest, just 0.201s behind Martins.

FP2 was a different story. Martins, Collet, and Paul Aron swapped places at the top of the order in the first part of the session before Quinn managed a 1m37.790s lap to go top of the order.

The Arden Motorsport driver continued to find improvements, shaving half a second off his lap time to go quicker than he had in FP1.

The consistently quick times left him with a 1m37.289s by the end of the session, just 0.064s ahead of Martins, who improved by just 0.02s on his FP1 time.

Vidales dropped back to third, ahead of Collet and Tijmen van der Helm, who had been quick early in the session.

Colapinto, Amaury Cordeel and Paul Aron took sixth, seventh and eighth, while Gregoire Saucy and Reshad de Gerus completed the top 10.

The Bhaitech entry of Lorenzo Colombo has been withdrawn following several cases of COVID-19 within the team.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Alex Quinn Arden 1m37.289s
2 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m37.305s +0.016s
3 David Vidales JD Motorsport 1m37.487s +0.198s
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP 1m37.554s +0.265s
5 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing 1m37.674s +0.385s
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m37.695s +0.406s
7 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing 1m37.757s +0.468s
8 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix 1m37.805s +0.516s
9 Hadrien David MP Motorsport 1m37.881s +0.592s
10 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m37.894s +0.605s
11 Reshad De Gerus Arden 1m37.944s +0.655s
12 Petr Ptacek MP Motorsport 1m38.022s +0.733s
13 Ugo de Wilde Arden 1m38.070s +0.781s
14 Michael Belov R-ace GP 1m38.143s +0.854s
15 William Alatalo JD Motorsport 1m38.179s +0.890s
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech 1m39.215s +1.926s
17 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m39.255s +1.966s