Home Formula 3GB3 Maini tops BRDC British F3 test at Silverstone ahead of season finale

Maini tops BRDC British F3 test at Silverstone ahead of season finale

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Hitech GP’s Kush Maini was fastest in all four sessions in BRDC British Formula 3’s two-day test at Silverstone.

The Indian, who the lost the points lead in the penultimate round at Donington Park, broke the series’ lap record in the opening three-hour session on Thursday and then improved on that laptime in the afternoon.

His morning margin was very small, with Douglas Motorsport’s Ulysse De Pauw and Fortec Motorsports’ Roberto Faria both within a tenth of a second of Maini’s pace.

There were several new and returning faces in the session, most notably JHR Developments’ Ayrton Simmons. The Euroformula racer was a title contender in BRDC British F3 last year and made a winning return to the series with Chris Dittmann Racing a few months ago.

Jonny Wilkinson, about to enter his second weekend in single-seater racing, made his series test debut with Fortec and Carlin rewarded its British Formula 4 title contender Casper Stevenson with a try-out in one of its cars.

Maini had to put in two late laps to topple Carlin’s points leader Kaylen Frederick from top spot on the timesheet in the afternoon, but in doing so he opened up a 0.209s margin between the two, and with few drivers improving in the colder conditions of Friday it meant those stood as the fastest laps of the test.

There was just a 0.088s gap between Maini and Faria at the top in Friday’s first session, while Frederick was his closest rival again in the final test session.

It was De Pauw who ended up third fastest overall, ahead of title rival Nazim Azman (Carlin), Simmons and Faria.

Louis Foster was the slowest of the five drivers in title contention, he and Double R Racing team-mate Benjamin Pedersen ending up over a second off the pace in 14th and 15th.

Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Kush Maini Hitech GP 1m53.584s 91
2 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m53.793s +0.209s 106
3 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport 1m53.995s +0.411s 101
4 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m54.022s +0.438s 109
5 Ayrton Simmons JHR Developments 1m54.029s +0.445s 75
6 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports 1m54.039s +0.455s 120
7 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP 1m54.267s +0.683s 108
8 Carter Williams JHR Developments 1m54.310s +0.726s 114
9 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing 1m54.329s +0.745s 120
10 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport 1m54.469s +0.885s 98
11 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing 1m54.527s +0.943s 114
12 Oliver Clarke Hillspeed 1m54.541s +0.957s 77
13 Sasakorn Chaimongkol Hillspeed 1m54.650s +1.066s 103
14 Louis Foster Double R Racing 1m54.763s +1.179s 98
15 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing 1m54.884s +1.300s 86
16 Jonny Wilkinson Fortec Motorsports 1m55.041s +1.457s 113
17 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing 1m55.041s +1.457s 110
18 Piers Prior Lanan Racing 1m55.492s +1.908s 33
19 Casper Stevenson Carlin 1m55.514s +1.930s 73
20 Max Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing 1m55.753s +2.169s 112