Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Picariello eases to race one victory at Hockenheim

Picariello eases to race one victory at Hockenheim

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

ADAC Formel Masters champion Alessio Picariello took his 11th feature race victory of the season, converting a front row start in race one at Hockenheim.

The decisive overtake of the race came on lap one, when Picariello seized the opportunity to go alongside poleman Maximilian Gunther into turn one and subsequently passed him for the lead.

With Picariello ahead, Gunther found himself settling for second, as a damaged front wing prevented him from taking the fight to the Belgian and, as such, the duo completed another comfortable Mucke 1-2.

Swiss driver Ralph Boschung maintained his streak of stellar performances by taking third, with Dane Nicolas Beer winding up in fourth.

Teammates Jason Kremer and Fabian Schiller were fifth and sixth respectively, while Red Bull junior Beitske Visser overhauled Stefan Riener in the fight for eighth. Lotus drivers Mikkel Jensen and Indy Dontje completed the top ten.

The race was not without incidents, as an early collision with Schiller forced frontrunner Marvin Dienst into retirement.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 14 laps in 25:01.651
2 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +1.308
3 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport +3.938
4 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing +7.092
5 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +8.401
6 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport +8.879
7 Beitske Visser Lotus +10.906
8 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing +14.581
9 Mikkel Jensen Lotus +15.688
10 Indy Dontje Lotus +16.246
11 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +25.139
12 Callan O’Keeffe Lotus +25.755
13 Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +29.254
14 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +31.531
15 Kim Giersiepen KSW Motorsport +33.695
16 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport +35.875
17 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering +41.379
18 Marcel Lenerz JBR Motorsport & Engineering +1:10.815
19 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +1:13.867
Not classified
Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport +8 laps
Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing +12 laps