Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Picariello dominates first race at Oschersleben

Picariello dominates first race at Oschersleben

by Stephen Goddard

Photo: ADAC Formel Masters

Alessio Picariello converted his dominant pole position at Oschersleben into a dominant first race win in what was a M?cke Motorsport one-two.

The Belgian quickly pulled away from the line quickly extended his lead and he never looked back, building an advantage of around 16 seconds when the chequered flag. On the other end, Jason Kremer, who started the race in second place, who was able to get off the line a challenge Picariello into the first turn, but made a mistake later in the lap that caused him to drop well back.

German Maximilian Gunther also made a poor getaway and was quickly overtaken by Hendrik Grapp and Nicolas Beer, and slowly fell back down the field. G?nther then went on a spectacular drive through the field to finish in fifth place, just behind Dutchman Indy Dontje.

Florian Herzog finished in sixth place on the road, but he was handed a 30-second post-race penalty for a setting his fastest sector time under yellow flags. He was therefore relegated to 13th position. South African Callan O’Keeffe moved up into sixth place.

Marvin Dienst, Beitske Visser, Stefan Riener and Ralph Boschung took the remaining points-scoring positions.

The ADAC Formel Masters continues on Sunday with two more races at Oschersleben.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alessio Picariello ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. 15 laps in 25:25.221
2 Hendrik Grapp ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +16.045
3 Nicolas Beer Neuhauser Racing +19.632
4 Indy Dontje Lotus +24.468
5 Maximilian Gunther ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +26.198
6 Callan O’Keefe Lotus +30.509
7 Marvin Dienst Neuhauser Racing +39.361
8 Beitske Visser Lotus +40.422
9 Stefan Riener Neuhauser Racing +48.278
10 Ralph Boschung Team KUG Motorsport +48.819
11 Mikkel Jensen Lotus +49.602
12 Jason Kremer Schiller Motorsport +54.222
13 Florian Herzog Team KUG Motorsport +1:00.211*
14 Hannes Utsch JBR Motorsport & Engineering +1:03.330
15 Giorgio Maggi ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +1:08.669
16 Benedikt Gentgen JBR Motorsport & Engineering +1:13.885
17 Stephane Kox Team KUG Motorsport +1:14.351
18 Martin Gatz KSW Motorsport +1 lap
19 Fabian Schiller Schiller Motorsport +2 laps
20 Kim Giersiepen KSW Motorsport +3 laps
Not classified
Kim-Luis Schramm ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. +15 laps