Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Bryant-Meisner scores win on return

Bryant-Meisner scores win on return

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: formel3.de

Swedish 18-year-old driver John Bryant-Meisner scored a crucial win in the reverse-grid German F3 race at Oschersleben, making his return to the championship after an injury ruled him out last year.

The Performance Racing driver was third on the grid and managed to jump to first into turn one. Coming into turn two, he ran wide and let a lot of people through, including Matteo Cairoli, who led for the majority of the race. With four laps to go, the Swede caught up to the Italian youngster and passed him, going on to take his maiden German F3 victory.

Lotus’ Artem Markelov secured another second place while a stunning drive from Thomas Jager saw him take third on the last lap, having started in fourteenth.

Cairoli finised fourth in the race but was given a 30-second post-race penalty, presumably for going overboard in blocking Yannick Mettler for the lead of the race. Mettler himself faced the same punishment, as did Sheban Siddiqi and Sebastian Balthasar.

Marvin Kirchhofer drove a quite race after his earlier victory, taking fourth ahead of teammate Emil Bernstorff. Gustavo Menezes was sixth, with ADM’s Tomasz Krzeminski and the penalized Cairoli rounding out the points. With the GU-Racing drivers having a race to forget, it was Hubertus-Carlos Vier who took victory in the Trophy class.

Race three will take place on Sunday, with Kirchhofer on pole.

Race results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time/Gap
1 John Bryant-Meisner C Performance Racing 12 laps in 20:18.142
2 Artem Markelov C Lotus +2.589
3 Thomas Jager C Performance Racing +6.495
4 Marvin Kirchhofer C Lotus +8.230
5 Emil Bernstorff C Lotus +8.873
6 Gustavo Menezes C Van Amersfoort +15.151
7 Tomasz Krzeminski C ADM Motorsport +15.423
8 Matteo Cairoli C ADM Motorsport +36.732*
9 Yannick Mettler C Performance Racing +37.732*
10 Nabil Jeffri C EuroInternational +45.341
11 Hubertus-Carlos Vier T TTC Motorsport +54.072
12 Sheban Siddiqi C Lotus +1:22.509*
13 Sebastian Balthasar T GU-Racing +1:23.881*
14 Maximilian Hackl T Frank Woss Racing +2 laps
15 Freddy Killensberger T GU-Racing +2 laps
16 Luca Iannaccone T Aberer Motorsport +2 laps
Not classified
17 Aston Hare C EuroInternational +4 laps
DNS Jordi Weckx C Van Amersfoort

* denotes post-race penalty