Home Featured Piastri is FIA F3 champion as Lawson wins Mugello finale

Piastri is FIA F3 champion as Lawson wins Mugello finale

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema driver Oscar Piastri secured the FIA Formula 3 Championship with seventh place in the final race of the season at Mugello as Hitech GP’s Liam Lawson took the race win.

Renault junior Piastri headed into the title decider at the top of the standings, but the lowest starting of the competitors in 11th. Logan Sargeant started level on points and was fifth, while ART Grand Prix’ Theo Pourchaire was eighth.

Piastri and Pourchaire didn’t get a stellar start, but their task was made easier as the safety car came out on the opening lap.

Sargeant’s title hopes ended in the gravel on the opening lap. Having entered the finale second in the standings, he was squeezed into the gravel at Turn 2 by ART’s Sebastian Fernandez and Trident’s Lirim Zendeli. The stewards deemed it to be a racing incident.

Pourchaire got Piastri on the restart and began a climb up the order that culminated in taking his second third place of the weekend, as Piastri struggled to make progress.

While Prema requested that race one winner Frederik Vesti should let Piastri through to have that extra buffer in the points, Pourchaire had to get past Fernandez – who escaped the opening lap contact – without assistance.

Out front, Lawson opened a gap to ART’s Alexander Smolyar, whose pace was not strong. Trident’s David Beckmann was able to get past but had no answer for Lawson who took his third win of the season.

Beckmann and Pourchaire rounded out the podium. HWA Racelab’s Enzo Fittipaldi took his best result with fourth.

MP Motorsport’s MP Motorsport’s Richard Verschoor was fifth, ahead of HWA’s Jake Hughes.

Renault junior Piastri took the crown with seventh after passing Fernandez on the line, ahead of Vesti. Smolyar rounded out the top 10 despite his issues throughout the race.

In the end, Piastri took the crown by three points from Pourchaire, who ends the season second by a single point from Sargeant.

Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 36m30.379s
2 David Beckmann Trident +7.806s
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +9.193s
4 Enzo Fittipaldi HWA Racelab +10.399s
5 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport +10.982s
6 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab +12.436s
7 Oscar Piastri Prema Racing +13.521s
8 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix +13.564s
9 Frederik Vesti Prema Racing +14.980s
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix +19.400s
11 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab +20.684s
12 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP +21.712s
13 Alex Peroni Campos Racing +22.235s
14 Clement Novalak Carlin +22.785s
15 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport +23.256s
16 Olli Caldwell Trident +23.443s
17 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport +26.133s
18 Roman Stanek Charouz Racing System +29.076s
19 David Schumacher Carlin +30.841s
20 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport +30.930s
21 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport +32.210s
22 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +34.316s
23 Michael Belov Charouz Racing System +34.803s
24 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing +35.284s
25 Cameron Das Carlin +37.734s
26 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing +55.484
Ret Logan Sargeant Prema Racing DNF
Ret Lirim Zendeli Trident DNF
Fastest lap: Vesti, 1m37.879s 

Championship standings
1 Piastri 164   2 Pourchaire 161   3 Sargeant 160   4 Vesti 146.5   5 Lawson 143   6 Beckmann 139.5   7 Hughes 114.5   8 Zendeli 104   9  Verschoor 69   10 Peroni 64