Home Formula 4Italian F4 Crawford wins at Red Bull Ring in Italian F4 with stunning move for lead

Crawford wins at Red Bull Ring in Italian F4 with stunning move for lead

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Jak Crawford claimed his first Italian Formula 4 win at the Red Bull Ring, earned after he came out on top in a three-wide overtake.

Gabriele Mini started from pole, but Crawford got past him on the rise to Turn 3 on lap one. Mini then braked late to reclaim the position, but had pressure from Crawford and his fellow Red Bull junior Jonny Edgar on the next lap.

On the run to the downhill Turn 4 lefthander, Crawford picked the outside line, while Edgar got a tow and was able to dive down Mini’s inside. The two Van Amersfoort Racing drivers went past cleanly on either side of Mini, and US Racing’s Ollie Bearman passed Mini down the inside at the exit too.

Edgar and Crawford were side-by-side afterwards, and only at Turn 7’s exit did Crawford finally get ahead.

Their battle didn’t end there, as Edgar tried again at Turn 4 on the next lap. This instead allowed Bearman through to second place, and chaos behind meant the safety car was called out shortly after.

Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli was running without a front wing, and several drivers further back had spun. Bearman tried attacking Crawford on the restart, but then couldn’t challenge the American for the rest of the 20-lap race.

Edgar couldn’t keep up either, and was passed by Mini at mid-distance. He didn’t lose further places, as Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen spun and BVM Racing’s Pietro Delli Guanti occupied himself with holding off the drivers behind him in sixth.

This included Prema’s Sebastian Montoya, who after battling with Bhaitech’s Jesse Salmenautio ended up losing his rear wing. He still held position though, leading a queue of six cars for several laps before eventually making one mistake and getting the expected technical flag to head to the pits.

The order from fifth downwards ended up being Dino Beganovic (Prema), Delli Guanti, Gabriel Bortoleto (Prema), Francesco Pizzi (VAR), Andrea Rosso (Cram Motorsport) and Victor Bernier (R-ace GP).

Salmenautio and Rosso fought for much of the race, and the former dropped from ninth to 11th on the final lap.


Race results (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 31m48.694s
2 Ollie Bearman US Racing +1.581s
3 Gabriele Mini Prema +4.255s
4 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +8.491s
5 Dino Beganovic Prema +8.786s
6 Pietro Delli Guanti BVM Racing +17.816s
7 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema +19.058s
8 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +23.512s
9 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport +27.165s
10 Victor Bernier R-ace GP +29.149s
11 Jesse Salmenautio Bhaitech +29.251s
12 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport +30.132s
13 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech +30.905s
14 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport +33.623s
15 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +34.050s
16 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech +36.264s
17 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +37.126s
18 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +39.584s
19 Hamda Al Qubaisi Abu Dhabi Racing +40.023s
20 Mateusz Kaprzyk Cram Motorsport +41.991s
21 Francesco Simonazzo Jenzer Motorsport +50.204s
22 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport +1m25.849s
23 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +1m28,318s
24 Kirill Smal R-ace GP +1 lap
25 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing +1 lap
26 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx +1 lap
Ret Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech
Ret Sebastian Montoya Prema
Ret Giorgis Markogiannis Cram Motorsport
DNS Vlad Lomko US Racing
Fastest lap: Beganovic, 1m31.307s

Championship Standings
1 Mini 116   2 Pizzi 97   3 Edgar 85   4 Rosso 79   5 Filip Ugran 78   6 Crawford 70   7 Beganovic 59   8 Delli Guanti 38   9 Bortoleto 34   10 Montoya 31