Home Featured Piastri heads impressive Doohan in F2 practice at Yas Marina

Piastri heads impressive Doohan in F2 practice at Yas Marina

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema’s Oscar Piastri set a 1m36.800s to top the final Formula 2 practice of the season at Yas Marina Circuit by 0.021 seconds over fellow Australian Jack Doohan.

In an uneventful session, Piastri traded fastest laps with ART Grand Prix’s Christian Lundgaard, who ended up third-fastest and 0.014s down on Doohan. No other driver managed to get under the 1m37s mark, which was 15 seconds faster than the pace set in practice when F2 last visited the track in 2019.

FIA Formula 3 Championship runner-up Doohan, making his second F2 appearance with MP Motorsport, ran consistently in the leading group from the start of practice, and was the first to dip under 1m39s after a third of the 45-minute session.

With 14 minutes on the clock he returned to the top of the times with a 1m36.821s, but was immediately demoted to second by Piastri and was unable to improve further.

Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung continued his strong form from Jeddah in fourth place, ahead of Doohan’s team-mate Clement Novalak, who was one of very few to improve in the final third of the session.

Juri Vips was sixth after briefly being fastest early on, while his Hitech GP team-mate Liam Lawson was down in 13th after a wide moment at turn 15.

Piastri’s title rivals had similarly underwhelming sessions, with team-mate Robert Shwartzman ninth fastest and Virtuosi Racing’s Guanyu Zhou in 11th and the last driver within a second of the pace.

They were behind both of the Trident drivers, but ahead of Carlin duo Dan Ticktum and Jehan Daruvala – down in 12th and 16th – and ART GP’s Theo Pourchaire who was back in his car after his scary crash in the Jeddah feature race.

The returning Jake Hughes and Alessio Deledda brought up the rear of the field for HWA Racelab to start the team’s final weekend in F2.

Several drivers complained about traffic around the revised circuit, and track limit infringements at the final corner led to laptimes being deleted too.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m36.800s 19
2 Jack Doohan MP Motorsport 1m36.821s +0.021s 20
3 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m36.835s +0.035s 22
4 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m37.299s +0.499s 22
5 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m37.315s +0.515s 13
6 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m37.339s +0.539s 20
7 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m37.416s +0.616s 19
8 Bent Viscaal Trident 1m37.615s +0.815s 20
9 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m37.633s +0.833s 19
10 Marino Sato Trident 1m37.701s +0.901s 21
11 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m37.738s +0.938s 20
12 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m37.817s +1.017s 21
13 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m37.910s +1.110s 22
14 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m37.915s +1.115s 20
15 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi 1m37.997s +1.197s 21
16 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m38.101s +1.301s 22
17 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m38.202s +1.402s 17
18 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m38.207s +1.407s 21
19 Richard Verschoor Charouz Racing System 1m38.387s +1.587s 23
20 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m38.538s +1.738s 22
21 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m39.155s +2.355s 20
22 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab 1m40.859s +4.059s 22