Home Featured Piastri claims fourth F2 pole position in a row in Jeddah qualifying

Piastri claims fourth F2 pole position in a row in Jeddah qualifying

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Prema locked out the front row as Oscar Piastri beat Robert Shwartzman to take his fourth successive pole position in Formula 2 qualifying in Jeddah.

Shwartzman topped the times after the first competitive laps were set, with his team-mate Piastri sitting less than a tenth behind.

ART Grand Prix’s Theo Pourchaire went fastest after completing his second flying lap, but Shwartzman regained the top spot a few moments later.

Behind them, Piastri stayed in third place after the opening runs, followed by ART GP’s Christian Lundgaard and Virtuosi Racing’s Felipe Drugovich.

With four minutes to go, Carlin’s Dan Ticktum reported a puncture in his right rear tyre and had to pit, which left him unable to improve his laptime.

The battle was on in the late stages of qualifying. Pourchaire went fastest just to be bettered by Piastri shortly after. Shwartzman was also improving, but a fastest overall sector two wasn’t enough to beat his team mate.

However, the Russian would still take a spot on the front row, as he was two tenths faster than Pourchaire.

Lundgaard will line up fourth for the main race on Sunday just ahead of both Virtuosi cars, Drugovich beating Guanyu Zhou to fifth. Liam Lawson rounded out the top 10 and therefore will start race one from pole position.

MP Motorsport’s Clement Novalak was the best among the weekend’s four debutants in 12th. Jack Doohan concluded the session in 16th two tenths off his team-mate. A bit further back were Campos’ Ollie Caldwell and HWA Racelab’s Logan Sargeant, who finished 19th and 21st respectively.

HWA’s Alessio Deledda didn’t take part in the session after sustaining damage in his free practice crash.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m40.878s 12
2 Robert Shwartzman Prema 1m41.043s 0.165s 11
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m41.218s 0.340s 13
4 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m41.297s 0.419s 13
5 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi 1m41.302s 0.424s 11
6 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi 1m41.350s 0.472s 12
7 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m41.532s 0.654s 12
8 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m41.610s 0.732s 12
9 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m41.618s 0.740s 12
10 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m41.619s 0.741s 12
11 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m41.861s 0.983s 12
12 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m41.890s 1.012s 11
13 Clement Novalak MP Motorsport 1m41.960s 1.082s 12
14 Bent Viscaal Trident 1m41.972s 1.094s 12
15 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m42.076s 1.198s 12
16 Jack Doohan MP Motorsport 1m42.114s 1.236s 11
17 Marino Sato Trident 1m42.466s 1.588s 11
18 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m42.870s 1.992s 12
19 Olli Caldwell Campos Racing 1m42.919s 2.041s 12
20 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m43.422s 2.544s 12
21 Logan Sargeant HWA Racelab 1m43.481s 2.603s 12
22 Alessio Deledda HWA Racelab No time 0