Home News Petrov heads close top five in Indy Pro 2000’s Indianapolis practice

Petrov heads close top five in Indy Pro 2000’s Indianapolis practice

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography/Road to Indy

Artem Petrov set the pace in Indy Pro 2000 practice on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s road course, as the top five were separated by less than a tenth of a second.

Juncos Racing’s Manuel Sulaiman was consistently at the top throughout the majority of the 30-minute session, although his margin was usually slender.

Sulaiman was able to gradually improve until the midpoint of the session, but his pace petered out towards afterwards.

In the closing stages, there was a flurry of fast laps coming in from a number of drivers. Sulaiman’s team-mate Reece Gold initially took the top spot, before being usurped by Exclusive Autosport’s Eves, and then Petrov, all in quick succession.

Petrov’s best lap was just 0.0090 seconds quicker than Eves’ effort. Miller Vinatieri Motorsports’ Jack William Miller quietly climbed up to third with his final effort, ahead of Pabst Racing’s Hunter McElrea.

Gold and Sulaiman slipped down to fifth and sixth, with the early pacesetter just over a tenth off the pace.

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Christian Rasmussen was seventh fastest after topping the pre-event test at the circuit.

Four drivers who raced last time out in St. Petersburg are absent. Hunter Yeany has a clash as Formula Regional Americas is racing later this weekend, while Enzo Fittipaldi has just finished FIA Formula 3 Championship testing in Spain. Cameron Shields’ budget has dried up, and Flinn Lazier also is missing.

Free practice results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Artem Petrov Exclusive Autosport 1m21.0964s 9
2 Braden Eves Exclusive Autosport 1m21.1054s +0.0090s 16
3 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m21.1645s +0.0681s 16
4 Hunter McElrea Pabst Racing 1m21.1717s +0.0753s 15
5 Reece Gold Juncos Racing 1m21.1770s +0.0806s 13
6 Manuel Sulaiman Juncos Racing 1m21.1986s +0.1022s 12
7 Christian Rasmussen JHDD 1m21.2489s +0.1525s 12
8 Colin Kaminsky Pabst Racing 1m21.5450s +0.4486s 17
9 Kyffin Simpson Juncos Racing 1m21.5752s +0.4788s 17
10 Enaam Ahmed RP Motorsport 1m21.8189s +0.7225s 8
11 James Roe Jr Turn 3 Motorsport 1m21.8225s +0.7261s 18
12 Wyatt Brichacek JHDD 1m21.8448s +0.7484s 19
13 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m22.0344s +0.9380s 17