Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Parsons strikes back to win race two at Sepang

Parsons strikes back to win race two at Sepang

by Aditya Banerjee
Photo: Formula Masters China Series

Photo: Formula Masters China Series

Australian driver Jake Parsons put Meritus GP on top with an assured lights-to-flag victory in the second race of the 2015 Formula Masters China Series season at Sepang.

The 20-year-old managed to keep race one winner Martin Rump at arm’s length, winning the race by 2.6 seconds.

Eurasia’s Aidan Read finished a strong third, taking his maiden series podium.

Read’s teammate Sean Hudspeth recovered from 11th on the grid to take fourth, while Meritus’s Daniel Woodroof put in an even more stirring drive, fighting back to fifth after being forced to start from the pits as he made up eight places on the opening lap itself.

Asuka Muratomi came home sixth, holding off Arrows racer Matthew Swanepoel. Nick Rowe, Kim Jeong Tae and Tomoki Takahashi completed the top ten.

The only retiree was Takeru Muratomi, while Yuan Bo was unable to start after sustaining suspension damage in a collision on the formation lap.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jake Parsons Meritus GP 6 laps in 13:01.972
2 Martin Rump KCMG +2.687
3 Aidan Read Eurasia Motorsport +6.429
4 Sean Hudspeth Eurasia Motorsport +10.301
5 Daniel Woodroof Meritus GP +11.137
6 Asuka Muratomi Eurasia Motorsport +13.857
7 Matthew Swanepoel Arrows Racing +14.427
8 Nick Rowe KCMG +22.893
9 Kim Jeong Tae Eurasia Motorsport +24.039
10 Tomoki Takahashi Super License +24.521
11 Hua Miao Eurasia Motorsport +25.610
12 Jeffrey Ye KCMG +27.362
13 Zheng Shangguan KCMG +30.498
14 Takashi Hata Super License +31.205
15 Worawong Komarakul Meritus GP +35.140
Not classified
Takeru Muratomi Eurasia Motorsport +5 laps
Yuan Bo Meritus GP +6 laps