Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Mick Schumacher holds on to win on debut weekend in cars

Mick Schumacher holds on to win on debut weekend in cars

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: ADAC / Juergen Tap

Photo: ADAC / Juergen Tap

Mick Schumacher, son of F1 legend Michael, was triumphant in the third race of the inaugural ADAC F4 round at Oschersleben.

Schumacher started from second but ended up leading the race from turn one to checkered flag, ending his first competitive weekend in single-seaters with a victory.

With the top ten from race one reversed, Rotax karting star Thomas Preining lined up on pole alongside Schumacher, but was somewhat sluggish off the line, dropping also behind Tim Zimmermann.

Immediately, the safety car was needed as a multi-car crash out of turn one ended up eliminating Alain Valente and Luca Engstler.

After a somewhat lengthy clean-up, Schumacher managed a masterful restart, pulling out more than a second on Zimmermann in just one lap.

His teammate Joseph Mawson took third place off Preining and began to keep Zimmermann busy, preventing the German from attacking the race lead.

Eventually, Mawson was through and began to make quick work of Schumacher’s two-second advantage.

The Aussie, who won on his car debut in French F4 last year, eventually got very close to his teammate with three minutes on the clock.

While Schumacher defended well, him giving up the lead seemed just a matter of time when he caught a lucky break – Benjamin Mazatis spun around out of turn one and was beached in the gravel, requiring another safety car period.

There was no time for the race to be resumed and Schumacher coasted to victory, with Mawson propping up a Van Amersfoort Racing 1-2.

When Zimmermann’s car failed shortly before the finish, Preining moved up to third and went on to clinch a maiden podium on his first weekend in single-seaters.

Ralf Aron continued a strong debut round in ADAC F4 by taking fourth ahead of Joel Eriksson and Marvin Dienst, the championship leader nursing a damaged front wing to the finish line.

Mattia Drudi passed Michael Waldherr for seventh, while Jonathan Cecotto and Kim-Luis Schramm completed the points.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Mick Schumacher Van Amersfoort Racing 18 laps in 30:59.920
2 Joseph Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing 0.518
3 Thomas Preining Mucke Motorsport 0.998
4 Ralf Aron Prema Powerteam 1.550
5 Joel Eriksson Motopark 2.154
6 Marvin Dienst HTP Junior Team 3.078
7 Mattia Drudi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group 3.558
8 Michael Waldherr Motopark 4.530
9 Jonathan Cecotto Motopark 5.013
10 Kim-Luis Schramm Neuhauser Racing 5.550
11 Giorgio Maggi SMG Swiss Motorsport Group 6.589
12 Robert Schwartzman Mucke Motorsport 6.966
13 Mike Ortmann Mucke Motorsport 7.715
14 Yan Leon Shlom Team Timo Scheider 8.302
15 Jan Jonck RS Competition 8.829
16 Florian Janits Lechner Racing 9.256
17 Jannes Fittje Motopark 9.830
18 Guanyu Zhou Prema Powerteam 10.343
19 Toni Wolff Piro Sports 11.029
20 Job van Uitert Privateer 12.021
21 Leon Wippersteg Team Timo Scheider 12.696
22 Cedric Piro Piro Sports 13.366
23 Nikolaj Rogivue SMG Swiss Motorsport Group 14.057
24 Mauro Auricchio Team Timo Scheider 15.106
25 David Kolkmann Jenzer Motorsport 15.751
26 Moritz Muller-Crepon Jenzer Motorsport 17.208
27 Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing 18.878
28 Marek Bockmann Jenzer Motorsport 19.675
29 Marcel Lenerz Lechner Racing +1 lap
30 Robin Brezina Privateer +2 laps
31 Benjamin Mazatis Mucke Motorsport +3 laps
32 Tim Zimmermann Neuhauser Racing +4 laps
Not classified
Janneau Esmeijer HTP Junior Team +6 laps
Alain Valente Race Performance +18 laps
Luca Engstler Engstler Motorsport +18 laps