Home Formula 3Euroformula Palou wins to end Euroformula Open season in style

Palou wins to end Euroformula Open season in style

by Gruz David


17-year-old Alex Palou collected his third victory of the Euroformula Open season after a confident performance in the final race at Circuit de Catalunya.

Starting from pole, Palou controlled the race from the first till the last corner, while also recording the fastest lap in the process.

Although he was unable to fight with Palou, guest driver Nelson Mason took a comfortable second, ahead of Yarin Stern, who collected his sixth P3 of the season.

Series champion Sandy Stuvik who was running fourth for the bigger part of the race, even challenging Stern for third, but then allowed teammate Artur Janosz through to assist his bid for runner-up in the standings.

As a result, Janosz ended the season in second, thanks to the 15 points he claimed for finishing as the third best point-scoring driver, while race winner Palou had to settle for third just one point adrift.

Japanese racer Yu Kanamaru finished sixth and secured fourth place in the championship, three points ahead of Stern.

Dzhon Simonyan took seventh, closely followed by Italian F4 regular Leonardo Pulcini, West-Tec’s Tanart Sathienthirakul and BVM’s guest Michele Beretta.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Alex Palou Campos Racing 17 laps in 29:19.763
2 Nelson Mason EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +5.744
3 Yarin Stern Team West-Tec +7.533
4 Artur Janosz RP Motorsport +15.572
5 Sandy Stuvik RP Motorsport +15.926
6 Yu Kanamaru EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +18.971
7 Dzhon Simonyan RP Motorsport +24.398
8 Leonardo Pulcini DAV Racing +26.790
9 Tanart Sathienthirakul Team West-Tec +27.552
10 Michele Beretta BVM Racing +28.263
11 Damiano Fioravanti BVM Racing +29.643
12 Andres Saravia RP Motorsport +31.764
13 Fabian Schiller Team West-Tec +32.369
14 Igor Walilko Team West-Tec +35.300
15 Igor Urien DAV Racing +37.408
16 Konstantin Tereshchenko Campos Racing +38.395
17 Wei Fung Thong Team West-Tec +47.161
18 William Barbosa Corbetta Competizioni +56.390
19 Saud Al Faisal RP Motorsport +57.262
Not classified
Che One Lim EmilioDeVillota Motorsport +11 laps
Sean Walkinshaw Campos Racing +12 laps
Henrique Baptista DAV Racing +13 laps