Home Formula 2 Palmer excluded from Monza qualifying due to lack of fuel

Palmer excluded from Monza qualifying due to lack of fuel

by Peter Allen
Jolyon Palmer

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP2 Series Media Service

GP2 championship leader Jolyon Palmer will start the Monza feature race from the back of the grid after being excluded from qualifying for not having fuel in his car at the end of the session.

The DAMS driver had been fourth quickest in the session, but it was found afterwards that less than one litre of fuel remained in his car.

Palmer has a 32-point margin in the drivers’ standings over Felipe Nasr, who was eighth fastest but will move up one place on the grid thanks to his rival’s exclusion. Palmer has not finished a race lower than seventh so far in 2014.

Raffaele Marciello will move up onto the second row of the grid at his home event, alongside Mitch Evans. Stoffel Vandoorne and Arthur Pic start from the front row.

Of little consolation to Palmer will be the decision to penalise Johnny Cecotto for impeding him ‘in a reckless manner’ at the Parabolica. Cecotto was only 21st quickest in a nightmare session, and a three-place grid drop (combined with gaining a place from Palmer’s exclusion) means he will now start 23rd.

Trident team-mate Sergio Canamasas, debutant Pierre Gasly and Artem Markelov will all move up above the Venezuelan.

Starting grid

Pos Driver? Team Time? Gap
1 Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:31.707
2 Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:31.926 0.219
3 Mitch Evans Russian Time 1:31.934 0.227
4 Raffaele Marciello Racing Engineering 1:32.124 0.417
5 Simon Trummer Rapax 1:32.137 0.430
6 Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1:32.150 0.443
7 Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:32.310 0.603
8 Julian Leal Carlin 1:32.343 0.636
9 Andre Negrao Arden International 1:32.354 0.647
10 Rio Haryanto EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:32.361 0.654
11 Daniel Abt Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.385 0.678
12 Stefano Coletti Racing Engineering 1:32.412 0.705
13 Kimiya Sato Campos Racing 1:32.413 0.706
14 Marco Sorensen MP Motorsport 1:32.419 0.712
15 Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.422 0.715
16 Takuya Izawa ART Grand Prix 1:32.435 0.728
17 Daniel de Jong MP Motorsport 1:32.473 0.766
18 Rene Binder Arden International 1:32.483 0.776
19 Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Rapax 1:32.486 0.779
20 Sergio Canamasas Trident 1:32.624 0.917
21 Pierre Gasly EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:32.826 1.119
22 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:32.881 1.174
23 Johnny Cecotto Trident 1:32.533* 0.826
24 Nathanael Berthon Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:32.912 1.205
25 Sergio Campana Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:33.409 1.702
26 Jolyon Palmer DAMS Excluded

* Three-place grid penalty