Home Featured O’Sullivan wins GB3 race three at Silverstone as Faria and Bilinski collide

O’Sullivan wins GB3 race three at Silverstone as Faria and Bilinski collide

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Zak O’Sullivan extended his GB3 points advantage with victory in the final race of the weekend at Silverstone after title rival Roberto Faria retired from the lead in a collision.

Fortec’s Faria, who had moved into second in the standings after race two, hustled reversed grid polesitter Roman Bilinkski for the lead in the early stages of the race on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout.

The Brazilian took the lead into Chapel after going side-by-side with Bilinkski through Maggotts and Becketts, but the pair collided after the Arden driver tried to fight back into Stowe.

Faria was out on the spot, while Bilinski crawled back to the pits with a puncture before retiring.

That handed the lead to O’Sullivan, who had worked his way up from sixth to third in the early stages, and the Carlin driver pulled out an 8.3-second lead by the chequered flag.

Branden Lee Oxley scored his best result so far with second, the Chris Dittmann Racing driver resisting pressure from Hitech GP pair Bart Horsten and Sebastian Alvarez, as well Fortec’s Ollie Bearman – who climbed from 15th to fifth.

Tom Lebbon was sixth for Elite Motorsport, with Hitech’s Reece Ushijima just 0.2s behind after recovering from 16th.

Carlin duo Bryce Aron and Christian Mansell were eighth and ninth, with Frederick Lubin taking 10th for Arden. Mansell moves back to second in the standings after Faria’s retirement, but is now 110 points back from O’Sullivan.

Ayrton Simmons, who won the weekend’s other two races, finished 12th for Chris Dittmann Racing after making a bad start from 13th.

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 19m30.808s
2 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +8.313s
3 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +8.651s
4 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +9.255s
5 Ollie Bearman Fortec Motorsports +9.929s
6 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +11.296s
7 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +11.570s
8 Bryce Aron Carlin +12.469s
9 Christian Mansell Carlin +12.972s
10 Frederick Lubin Arden +16.323s
11 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +16.726s
12 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +16.863s
13 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +17.224s
14 Jonathan Browne Hillspeed +17.384s
15 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +17.841s
Ret Roman Bilinski Arden
Ret Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: O’Sullivan, 1m55.775s

Championship standings
O’Sullivan 399   2 Mansell 289   3 Faria 283   4 Simmons 274   5 Ushijima 269   6 Horsten 240   7 Bilinski 221   8 Alvarez 223   9 Lebbon 213   10 Sagrera 204