Home Formula 3GB3 Simmons beats Bearman to GB3 race two win at Silverstone

Simmons beats Bearman to GB3 race two win at Silverstone

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Ayrton Simmons took his second GB3 win of the weekend after leading from start to finish in race two on Silverstone’s Grand Prix layout. 

The Chris Dittmann Racing driver led away from pole at the start, initially building a small advantage, before Fortec’s Ollie Bearman closed to within 0.4 seconds. 

Roberto Faria (Fortec) and Zak O’Sullivan (Carlin) joined the lead train, as the top four broke away from the rest. 

Simmons set the fastest lap at the halfway stage to pull out a second lead, with Bearman responding by lapping quicker on the next tour to close the gap once more.

Simmons held on to take victory by 0.676s, despite Bearman recording the fastest lap at the finish.

Faria took the final podium spot ahead of O’Sullivan, who extended his points advantage over the Brazilian who is now up to second in the points.

CDR’s Branden Lee Oxley put in an impressive defensive drive against Hitech GP’s Bart Horsten and Elite Motorsport’s Tom Lebbon for most of the race, but Horsten snatched fifth on the final lap through Maggots and Becketts. 

Lebbon dropped down to 15th on the final tour, enabling Elite’s Javier Sagrera to take seventh ahead of Hitech’s Reece Ushijima, who climbed from 14th to eighth on that last lap.

Christian Mansell was ninth for Carlin, just over 0.1s clear of Arden’s Frederick Lubin. 

Roman Bilinski climbed from 13th to move past his Arden team-mate at Maggotts into the top 10, but dropped to the back before the chequered flag. 

Race results (10 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing 19m31.425s
2 Ollie Bearman Fortec Motorsports +0.676s
3 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +1.508s
4 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +2.198s
5 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +12.249s
6 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +13.447s
7 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +13.999s
8 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +15.984s
9 Christian Mansell Carlin +16.496s
10 Frederick Lubin Arden +16.632s
11 Bryce Aron Carlin +17.987s
12 Jonathan Browne Hillspeed +18.274s
13 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +21.808s
14 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +22.280s
15 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +23.424s
16 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +24.178s
17 Roman Bilinski Arden +1 lap
Fastest lap: Bearman, 1m56.496s

Championship standings
O’Sullivan 374   2 Faria 283   3 Mansell 281   4 Simmons 269   5 Ushijima 252   6 Bilinski 225   7 Horsten 219   8 Alvarez 208   9 Lebbon 201   10 Sagrera 198