Home Featured O’Sullivan takes first FIA F3 pole for Carlin at Silverstone

O’Sullivan takes first FIA F3 pole for Carlin at Silverstone

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan claimed a maiden FIA Formula 3 Championship pole position at his home circuit of Silverstone in a session where top 14 was covered by 0.451 seconds.

Prema’s Ollie Bearman was the fastest once every driver had completed their first timed lap. On the second lap of the first runs, MP Motorsport’s Kush Maini bettered Bearman’s lap-time, taking the top spot as drivers headed to the pit-lane for new tyres.

Isack Hadjar had a big snap as he ran over the kerb at the exit of Copse. The Hitech GP driver kept his car under control avoiding the spin.

Victor Martins didn’t enjoy an easy start to the session. The championship leader sat in 13th place after the first runs were completed, 0.657 seconds off Maini’s benchmark.

The situation seemed to improve for the ART Grand Prix driver, who moved up to second place behind MP’s Caio Collet as drivers clocked their first laps on new tyres in the second run. However, other drivers improved and Martins ultimately dropped back to 11th, with Collet in fourth.

O’Sullivan surprised then by setting the fastest lap out of everyone. His time of 1m44.597s was enough for the Williams Racing junior to clinch his first F3 pole on home soil, and a first pole for Carlin in the FIA F3 era.

Arthur Leclerc was just 0.027s away from O’Sullivan in second for Prema, with Zane Maloney +0.041s in third for Trident.

Prema’s Jak Crawford and Trident’s Roman Stanek were able to improve from eighth to fifth and from 10th to eighth respectively on their last laps.

A last-minute lap moved Hadjar from 14th up to ninth place, which will allow him to benefit from the reversed-grid for the sprint race, which Reece Ushijima will start from pole ahead of Martins and Maini.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m44.597 12
2 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m44.624 +0.027 11
3 Zane Maloney Trident 1m44.638 +0.041 12
4 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m44.783 +0.186 12
5 Jak Crawford Prema 1m44.805 +0.208 12
6 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m44.863 +0.266 11
7 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m44.876 +0.279 12
8 Roman Stanek Trident 1m44.920 +0.323 12
9 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m44.922 +0.325 12
10 Kush Maini MP Motorsport 1m44.930 +0.333 12
11 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m44.958 +0.361 13
12 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.012 +0.415 11
13 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m45.028 +0.431 11
14 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m45.048 +0.451 13
15 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m45.203 +0.606 13
16 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m45.240 +0.643 13
17 Franco Colapinto Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.300 +0.703 11
18 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m45.568 +0.971 13
19 Francesco Pizzi Charouz Racing System 1m45.576 +0.979 11
20 Ido Cohen Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.718 +1.121 12
21 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.810 +1.213 12
22 Nazim Azman Hitech GP 1m45.815 +1.218 12
23 Brad Benavides Carlin 1m45.855 +1.258 12
24 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m45.919 +1.322 11
25 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m45.934 +1.337 11
26 Enzo Trulli Carlin 1m45.988 +1.391 11
27 Filip Ugran MP Motorsport 1m46.051 +1.454 13
28 Zdenek Chovanec Charouz Racing System 1m47.713 +3.116 11
29 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m48.038 +3.441 13
30 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 2m09.684 +25.087 12