Home Featured O’Sullivan doubles up at Donington as Hitech team-mates clash

O’Sullivan doubles up at Donington as Hitech team-mates clash

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan took his second BRDC British Formula 3 race win of the weekend at Donington Park as Hitech GP team-mates Reece Ushijima and Bart Horsten collided.

O’Sullivan started from pole position alongside Arden’s Alex Connor and held onto the lead at the start. From there, Connor was able to keep with the championship leader throughout the 12-lap race but was unable to find any way through. The gap was often around the one-second mark, with Connor closing in during the closing stages.

The pair were chased for much of the race by Ushijima and Horsten until a lunge from Horsten on Ushijima at Goddard’s on lap nine concluded with the former in the gravel with suspension damage after being launched into the air.

Horsten, meanwhile, was able to continue but dropped behind Roberto Faria and Javier Sagrera – who lost his race one podium due to a false start. Faria, who began this race on a complete set of used tyres but worked his way past Sagrera at the start.

Horsten held onto fifth ahead of weekend debutant Roman Bilinksi. Christian Mansell, Dexter Patterson, Ayrton Simmons and Sebastian Alvarez rounded out the top 10. Alvarez too started on a completely old set of tyres.

In addition to Ushijima, Douglas Motorsport’s Reema Juffali was the other retirement from the race. She was battling towards the back of the pack when forced wide at the Old Hairpin, where she damaged her front wing on the grass.

Juffali is set to start the final race of the weekend from pole position after being slowest in qualifying.

Race results (12 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 17m12.583s
2 Alex Connor Arden +1.085s
3 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +4.436s
4 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +6.112s
5 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +6.445s
6 Roman Bilinski Arden +7.217s
7 Christian Mansell Carlin +7.588s
8 Dexter Patterson Douglas Motorsport +10.433s
9 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +10.602s
10 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +12.287s
11 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +13.304s
12 Bryce Aron Carlin +15.139s
13 Jose Garfias Elite Motorsport +19.505s
14 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +20.067s
15 Max Marzorati Chris Dittmann Racing +20.504s
Ret Reece Ushijima Hitech GP
Ret Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport
Fastest lap: Horsten, 1m25.207s

Championship standings
O’Sullivan 219   2 Ushijima 172   3 Connor 138   4 Faria 121   5 Mansell 117   6 Sagrera 110   7 Horsten 109   8 Simmons 107   9 Frederick Lubin 88    10 Lebbon 86