Home Formula 3GB3 O’Sullivan dominates in the rain as Carlin seals GB3’s teams title

O’Sullivan dominates in the rain as Carlin seals GB3’s teams title

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

GB3 champion Zak O’Sullivan took his second victory of the weekend at Donington Park with a dominant wet weather display in race two.

Conditions resulted in the race starting behind the safety car, with poleman Reece Ushijima leading into Redgate when the green flags were shown on lap three.

Starting from third, Carlin’s O’Sullivan challenged Bart Horsten for second through the Craner Curves, gaining the position when the Hitech GP driver ran wide exiting Old Hairpin.

A few corners later, O’Sullivan moved up the inside of Horsten’s team-mate Ushijima for the lead at Old Hairpin, completing the move into Goddards, and pulled out a three second lead within one lap.

From there, he controlled the race to take his seventh victory of the season by 7.3 seconds from Ushijima, with Christian Mansell making it two Carlin drivers on the podium by finishing third. It also clinched the outfit the teams’ title.

Starting from sixth, Mansell gained a place at Macleans when Hitech’s Sebastian Alvarez ran wide, and soon passed Arden’s Roman Bilinski for fourth. 

Mansell snatched third from Horsten on the final lap at Coppice, and is now level on points with Chris Dittmann Racing’s Ayrton Simmons, who came home fifth.

Ushijima sits just five points behind the pair ahead of Sunday afternoon’s season-ending race.

Roman Bilinski finished sixth after Simmons pulled a brave overtake on the Arden driver around the outside of Coppice with a few laps to go.

Carlin’s Bryce Aron also produced a strong performance, climbing from 13th to finish a second behind Bilinski in seventh.

CDR’s Branden Lee Oxley was eighth ahead of Alvarez, who lost further ground at Fogarty early on before coming out on top in a wheel-to-wheel battle with Fortec Motorsports’ Roberto Faria.

Elite Motorsport’s Tom Lebbon was the last of the finishers after pitting for a new front wing following contact with Faria, while an issue forced Hillspeed’s Jonathan Browne to retire in the pits.

Race results (11 laps)

Pos Name Team Time
1 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 20m41.360s
2 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +7.389s
3 Christian Mansell Carlin +10.655s
4 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +11.769s
5 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +19.568s
6 Roman Bilinski Arden +21.676s
7 Bryce Aron Carlin +22.562s
8 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +26.124s
9 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +27.026s
10 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +30.697s
11 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +34.214s
12 James Hedley Elite Motorsport +36.427s
13 Frederick Lubin Arden +40.714s
14 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +42.896s
15 Alex Fores Chris Dittmann Racing +44.895s
16 Tommy Smith Douglas Motorsport +50.684s
17 Eduardo Coseteng Fortec Motorsports +53.174s
18 Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport +1m11.917s
19 Flynn Jackes Hillspeed +1m14.168s
20 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +1m20.651s
Ret Jonathan Browne Hillspeed
Fastest lap: O’Sullivan, 1m41.959s

Championship standings
1 O’Sullivan 524   2 Simmons 371   3 Mansell 371   4 Ushijima 366   5 Faria 336   6 Horsten 319   7 Bilinski 303   8 Alvarez 269   9 Lebbon 269   10 Sagrera 266