Home Featured O’Sullivan all but secures GB3 title as Bilinski wins in wet

O’Sullivan all but secures GB3 title as Bilinski wins in wet

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Arden’s Roman Bilinski took this third GB3 win in a soaking final race at Oulton Park, as Zak O’Sullivan put the title out of reach for his rivals.

A heavy rain shower arrived before the reversed grid race, with Mikkel Grundtvig leading away into the first corner while Bilinski made a great start from fourth to move into second.

Bilinski moved up the inside of the Fortec driver at Cascades into the lead, before pulling away to win by 8.1 seconds.

Hillspeed’s Jonathan Browne ran third early on but, after being passed by Hitech GP’s Sebastian Alvarez at the chicane, spun on the corner exit and dropped down the order.

Arden’s Frederick Lubin and Elite Motorsport’s Javier Sagrera both passed Alvarez to finish fourth and fifth.

Alvarez finished fifth ahead of O’Sullivan, who climbed from the rear of the field to take sixth, but the Carlin driver will have to wait until the final round at Donington Park to take the title. The points scored for positions gained in the reserved grid race means that if the entry list decreases for Donington he will be guaranteed the title before even visiting the track.

Chris Dittmann Racing’s Ayrton Simmons was seventh ahead of Elite’s Tom Lebbon, while Browne finished ninth after his earlier spin.

Roberto Faria was 10th for Fortec ahead of Carlin’s Christian Mansell and CDR’s Branden Lee Oxley.

Luke Browning (Fortec) and Reece Ushijima (Hitech) both retired in the pits after separate spins, while Reema Juffali (Douglas Motorsport) spun out of the race into the barriers.

Race results (12 laps)

Pos Name Team Time
1 Roman Bilinski Arden 21m05.174s
2 Mikkel Grundtvig Fortec Motorsports +8.150s
3 Frederick Lubin Arden +11.200s
4 Javier Sagrera Elite Motorsport +11.638s
5 Sebastian Alvarez Hitech GP +18.086s
6 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin +18.550s
7 Ayrton Simmons Chris Dittmann Racing +18.985s
8 Tom Lebbon Elite Motorsport +24.531s
9 Jonathan Browne Hillspeed +25.052s
10 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +31.014s
11 Christian Mansell Carlin +31.528s
12 Branden Lee Oxley Chris Dittmann Racing +33.585s
13 Bryce Aron Carlin +34.174s
14 Bart Horsten Hitech GP +34.417s
15 Reece Ushijima Hitech GP +1m35.610s
Ret Reema Juffali Douglas Motorsport
Ret Luke Browning Fortec Motorsports
Fastest lap: Bilinski, 1m43.956s

Championship standings
1 O’Sullivan 454   2 Simmons 342   3 Mansell 339   4 Faria 316   5 Ushijima 308   6 Horsten 295   7 Bilinski 262   8 Alvarez 257   9 Lebbon 249   10 Sagrera 240