Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Oscar Piastri leads Formula Renault Eurocup first practice session at Spa

Oscar Piastri leads Formula Renault Eurocup first practice session at Spa

by Ida Wood

Photo: Renault Sport

Oscar Piastri set the pace in the sole Formula Renault Eurocup free practice session on Thursday at Spa-Francorchamps.

JD Motorsport’s Joao Vieira was initially the driver in front, with Arden’s Sebastian Fernandez and M2 Competition’s Callan O’Keeffe just behind.

As the track cooled slightly from the high temperatures that hit the test sessions earlier in the day, the lap times improved and in succession Brad Benavides (FA Racing by Drivex), Lorenzo Colombo (MP Motorsport), Fernandez and Leonardo Lorandi (JD Motorsport) went quickest.

Lorandi and Fernandez stayed unchallenged at the top for a while, as Global Racing Service’s Xavier Lloveras crept up to a surprise third.

In the last quarter of the session most of the cars returned to track, and the top spot was traded several times.

Colombo returned to the top briefly before Piastri set his best lap and a red flag was brought out for a crash by Fernandez.

The session did not restart afterwards, leaving R-ace GP’s Piastri, Colombo and M2’s Kush Maini at the top.


Free Practice results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP 2m20.267s
2 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +0.178s
3 Kush Maini M2 Competition +0.327s
4 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.396s
5 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +0.490s
6 Sebastian Fernandez Arden +0.511s
7 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +0.613s
8 Brad Benavides FA Racing by Drivex +0.696s
9 Callan O’Keeffe M2 Competition +0.741s
10 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +0.788s
11 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +0.850s
12 Joao Vieira JD Motorsport +0.914s
13 Alexander Smolyar R-ace G +1.019s
14 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +1.164s
15 Rui Andrade FA Racing by Drivex +1.191s
16 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +1.411s
17 Franco Colapinto FA Racing by Drivex +1.431s
18 Patrik Pasma Arden +1.532s
19 Frank Bird Arden +1.935s
20 Federico Malvesititi Bhaitech +2.241s
21 Alessio Deledda Global Racing Service +2.546s