Home Featured Olli Caldwell completes triple Italian F4 win at Vallelunga

Olli Caldwell completes triple Italian F4 win at Vallelunga

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Peak Performance Management

Olli Caldwell held off Petr Ptacek to become only the second driver to win all three Italian Formula 4 races in a weekend at Vallelunga.

Bhaitech driver Ptacek spent the entire race on Caldwell?s tail, trying to force a mistake from the Prema driver. Caldwell didn?t put a foot wrong though, leaving Ptacek with no opportunity to snatch the race lead.

The pair finished just 0.7 seconds apart, with Caldwell completing his triple of wins and poles, and nine seconds ahead of the rest of the field.

Ptacek’s team-mate Leonardo Lorandi extended his championship lead with his first podium of the weekend, finishing just ahead of title rival Enzo Fittipaldi. He snatched third from Fittipaldi off the line and managed to build a small gap while the Prema driver battled with team-mate Guanluca Petecof and Mucke Motorsport’s William Alatalo.

After briefly falling behind Petecof, Fittipaldi reclaimed fourth and closed the gap to Lorandi. Throughout the second half of the race he tried everything to find a way past, but Lorandi drove a perfect race to finish third, narrowly extending his slim championship lead.

Petecof took fifth ahead of Alatalo, who spent much of the race defending his position from Federico Malvestiti, Gregoire Saucy, and Alessandro Famularo. Famularo was taken out of the fight when he was handed a drive-through penalty for a jump start, but Malvestiti kept the pressure on the Mucke Motorsport driver, finishing just half a second behind.

Saucy finished eighth, ahead of Nazim Azman and Ilya Morozov.


Race results (19 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Olli Caldwell Prema 29m38.974s
2 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +0.747s
3 Leonardo Lorandi Bhaitech +9.402s
4 Enzo Fittipaldi Prema +10.134s
5 Gianluca Petecof Prema +13.519s
6 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +14.681s
7 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport +15.187s
8 Gregoire Saucy Jenzer Motorsport +22.479s
9 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport +24.932s
10 Ilya Morozov Cram Motorsport +25.922s
11 Edoardo Morricone DR Formula +26.412s
12 Niklas Krutten Mucke Motorsport +27.014s
13 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +27.566s
14 Oliver Rasmussen Jenzer Motorsport +28.498s
15 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +35.601s
16 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +38.767s
17 Andrea Dell’Accio Cram Motorsport +41.261s
18 Alessandro Famularo Bhaitech +59.124s
19 Alessio Deledda Technorace +1m07.265s
20 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +1 lap
21 Umberto Laganella Cram Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Ido Cohen Mucke Motorsport
Ret Fabio Vendetti Corbetta Competizioni
Pole: Caldwell, 1m32.521s? ? ??Fastest lap: Ptacek, 1m33.083s

Championship Standings
1?Lorandi 266? ?2 Fittipaldi 257? ?3 Caldwell 228? ?4?Ptacek 162? ?5?Malvestiti 159? ?6 Petecof 128? ?7?Alatalo 93? ?8?Carrara 87? ?9?Ian Rodriguez 78? ?10?Frederik Vesti 68