Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC O’Keeffe takes first Formula Renault victory at Assen

O’Keeffe takes first Formula Renault victory at Assen

by Gruz David
Photo: Chris Schotanus / Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

Photo: Chris Schotanus / Formula Renault 2.0 NEC

South African racer Callan O’Keeffe celebrated his maiden Formula Renault NEC victory at Assen with a confident performance from pole position.

The first lap of the race saw the safety car come out as a result of an incident which forced championship leader Steijn Schothorst into retirement.

When the action continued, O’Keeffe carried on in the lead and was closely trailed by the trio of Ben Barnicoat, Gustav Malja and Seb Morris.?

However, the top four remained unchanged for the rest of the race – Barnicoat and Malja completed the podium, while Morris was fourth.

Series returnee Alex Albon secured fifth place while Josef Kaufmann’s Ryan Tveter picked up sixth.

Matthew Graham took seventh, ahead of Louis Deletraz, who had to settle with eighth despite having started on the front row. Euronova’s Ukyo Sasahara and Speedfish-Racing’s Stefan Riener completed the top ten.

As a result of Schothorst’s retirement and Barnicoat’s podium, the British karting graduate now leads the championship by eleven points.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team 14 laps in 25:34.821
2 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports +1.003
3 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +1.770
4 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +2.257
5 Alex Albon KTR +4.146
6 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +11.048
7 Matthew Graham AVF +11.715
8 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.516
9 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova +14.530
10 Stefan Riener Speedfish-Racing +15.563
11 Roy Geerts AVF +16.188
12 Josef Zaruba AVF +16.689
13 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +17.571
14 Jules Gounon AVF +19.858
15 Gregor Ramsay KTR +20.464
16 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport +22.649
17 Julio Moreno Manor MP +29.805
18 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +29.878
19 Philip Hamprecht Inter Europol +33.195
20 Inigo Bikuna AVF +48.054
21 Harri Salminen PositiOne +48.901
22 Michele La Rosa Euronova +52.052
Not classified
Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +8 laps
Steijn Schothorst Manor MP +14 laps