Home Z - Archive seriesGP3 Niederhauser returns to the top step in second Hungaroring race

Niederhauser returns to the top step in second Hungaroring race

by Peter Allen

Photo: Sam Bloxham/GP3 Series Media Service

Patric Niederhauser claimed his first win in GP3 for over two years as a fast start propelled him to victory in the second race at the Hungaroring.

Starting third on the reverse grid, the Swiss driver’s great launch moved him past front row starters Dino Zamparelli and Jann Mardenborough before turn one. He then rebuffed an attempted fight back from Zamparelli at turn two, and began to open up a lead, which stood at 1.5 seconds at the end of the 17 lap race.

Zamparelli scored his third podium of the season so far in second but was visibly disappointed to have not turned his pole into a win. Mardenborough followed his Hockenheim race two win with another podium in third after resisting pressure from championship leader Alex Lynn. Robert Visoiu looked for a way past Lynn earlier in the race before dropping back.

While the top five remained static after the first lap, Richie Stanaway put a move on Dean Stoneman at turn one on lap three to claim what would be a distant sixth place. Stoneman also succumbed to Emil Bernstorff on the last lap, but kept Marvin Kirchhofer and Patrick Kujala at bay to take the final point on offer.

Race results
Pos Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Patric Niederhauser Arden International 17 laps in 27:31.893
2 Dino Zamparelli ART Grand Prix +1.504
3 Jann Mardenborough Arden International +7.440
4 Alex Lynn Carlin +8.154
5 Robert Visoiu Arden International +10.364
6 Richie Stanaway Status Grand Prix +16.174
7 Emil Bernstorff Carlin +19.246
8 Dean Stoneman Marussia Manor Racing +22.681
9 Marvin Kirchhofer ART Grand Prix +22.872
10 Patrick Kujala Marussia Manor Racing +23.576
11 Nick Yelloly Status Grand Prix +24.172
12 Roman De Beer Trident +25.698
13 Alex Fontana ART Grand Prix +26.022
14 Pal Varhaug Jenzer Motorsport +26.498
15 Matheo Tuscher Jenzer Motorsport +27.468
16 Jimmy Eriksson Koiranen GP +30.125
17 Sebastian Balthasar Hilmer Motorsport +30.422
18 Luis Sa Silva Carlin +30.513
19 Riccardo Agostini Hilmer Motorsport +32.967
20 Nelson Mason Hilmer Motorsport +33.501
21 Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing +33.911
22 Alfonso Celis Status Grand Prix +35.422
23 Christopher Hoher Jenzer Motorsport +35.953
24 Mitch Gilbert Trident +44.764
25 Carmen Jorda Koiranen GP +55.061
Not classified
Santiago Urrutia Koiranen GP +15 laps