Home Formula 3 Nick Cassidy takes straightforward win in race two at Suzuka

Nick Cassidy takes straightforward win in race two at Suzuka

by Valentin Khorounzhiy
Photo: Japanese Formula 3 Championship

Photo: Japanese Formula 3 Championship

Petronas TOM’S driver Nick Cassidy was victorious in the second race of the Japanese F3 opener at Suzuka.

Cassidy’s win is his best result in Formula 3 racing, his previous record being a third place at last year’s Macau Grand Prix.

The Kiwi had already taken the checkered flag in first in race one, but was penalised for contact with teammate Kenta Yamashita.

The duo shared the front row for race two, but Yamashita slipped behind race one winner Mitsunori Takaboshi off the line.

Cassidy initially pulled away from Takaboshi, but the B-MAX racer began to reel him back in as the race went on and featured prominently in the Kiwi’s rearview mirrors.

But Cassidy responded by speeding up and denied Takaboshi the double, finishing two seconds up the road.

Yamashita ended the weekend in third, meaning the 19-year-old has maintained his streak of finishing on the podium at least once in every Japanese F3 round he’s contested.

Sophomore Tsubasa Takahashi enjoyed a strong drive to fourth, first passing Keishi Ishikawa out of T15 and then overtaking Lucas Ordonez into the Casino Triangle a few laps later.

Ordonez and Ishikawa completed the points-scoring top six, while tenth-placed Ryo Ogawa claimed the National class honours.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Cl. Time/Gap
1 Nick Cassidy Petronas Team TOM’S C 17 laps in 32:48.821
2 Mitsunori Takaboshi B-MAX Racing C +2.153
3 Kenta Yamashita Petronas Team TOM’S C +2.694
4 Tsubasa Takahashi HFDP Racing C +9.573
5 Lucas Ordonez B-MAX Racing C +13.581
6 Keishi Ishikawa Toda Racing C +15.421
7 Nirei Fukuzumi HFDP Racing C +16.170
8 Struan Moore KCMG C +27.212
9 Tairoku Yamaguchi Tairoku Hanashima Racing C +40.079
10 Ryo Ogawa TOM’S N +50.578
11 Ai Miura Exedy Racing Team N +55.176
12 Dragon B-MAX Racing N +1:30.112
13 Masaru Miura CMS N +1:43.204
14 Motoyoshi Yoshida RSS with B-MAX C +1:47.164
15 Alex Yang KRC Hanashima Racing N +1:47.792
16 Guillaume Cunnington FSC Motorsport N +1 lap