Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Masters China Nick Rowe completes KCMG lineup in Formula Masters China

Nick Rowe completes KCMG lineup in Formula Masters China

by Aditya Banerjee

Photo: Formula Ford Association

Defending teams’ champions KCMG have signed Australian Nick Rowe to complete their four-car lineup for the 2015 Formula Masters China Series season.

The 16-year-old began his karting career in 2010. He finished runner-up in the Australian National Sprint Kart series in 2012 to current?Formula Renault 2.0 driver James Allen. The following year, Rowe won the prestigious SKUSA Supernationals championship.

Rowe’s efforts in karting did not go unrecognised and he was awarded ‘Australian karter of the year’ in both 2012 and 2013. The youngster from Karratha, Western Australia, made his single seater bow in 2014, finishing fourth in the Australian Formula Ford series.

Rowe moved to the Speedcar Pro Series in the off season, where he finished sixth overall and received the ‘Rookie of the Year’ designation.

Rowe joins Estonian Martin Rump, and Chinese duo Zheng Shang Guan and Jeffrey Ye Junhui at the Hong Kong-based outfit for 2015. The team were champions last year with Kiwi James Munro clinching the the driver’s title, and Briton Dan Wells claiming third place in the standings.

?It is a great feeling to be representing KCMG,? said Rowe.??It?s a real nice atmosphere around. After racing Formula Ford last season, it?s a great opportunity to step up with such a competitive team in Formula Masters. If all goes to plan, hopefully the team and I can have a great season together.?

?Nick completes a formidable line up for our Formula Masters campaign?, KCMG’s John O’Hara commented.??He is a valuable addition to the team and we?re confident that we?ll see him deliver positive results for us. We?re all looking forward to his first race in the Tatuus car at Sepang.?

The 2015 season gets underway this weekend at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia.

2015 Formula Masters China line-up so far
Team Driver
KCMG Zheng Shang Guan, Jeffrey Ye Junhui, Martin Rump, Nick Rowe
Eurasia Motorsport Aidan Read, Sean Hudspeth, Hua Miao, Kim Jeong Tae
Meritus GP Daniel Woodroof, Jake Parsons