Home Z - Archive seriesFIA European F3 Nick Cassidy gets Prema F3 seat for 2016 season

Nick Cassidy gets Prema F3 seat for 2016 season

by Peter Allen
Nick Cassidy

Photo: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Nick Cassidy will race for Prema in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship this year in addition to his Super GT programme.

The New Zealander completes Prema’s four-car line-up in F3, joining Lance Stroll, Maximilian Gunther and Ralf Aron.

Like Gunther, he gets a full deal with the Italian squad after appearing towards the end of last season, racing at the Portimao and Nurburgring rounds, taking two podiums at the latter.

A double champion in his native Toyota Racing Series, Cassidy claimed the Japanese F3 title last year and has been rewarded with a Super GT deal with TOM’S and Lexus.

There is one clash between the two calendars, and Cassidy is likely to priorities his GT campaign and therefore miss the Spielberg F3 round in May.

?It is going to be a very busy year for me traveling between Europe and Japan where I will also compete in the Super GT500 championship with Lexus Team TOM?S, but after a great year last year, I feel that I am more than prepared for the challenge that lies ahead,” he said.

“Ever since my first introduction to the Prema team I felt very welcome, I really enjoy the family atmosphere inside the team.?

Team boss Rene Rosin added: ?We could not be more satisfied for the arrival of Cassidy, a really experienced driver who has already showed some outstanding driving skills throughout his career, especially behind the wheel of Formula 3 cars.

“When we had an open seat at the end of last season, I did not have a single doubt about having him in our team. He did a really good job straight away and showed he had the attitude needed to be a part of Prema. That is why we decided to add him to our 2016 line-up.?

2016 FIA F3 European Championship line-up so far
Team Drivers
Prema Powerteam Lance Stroll, Ralf Aron, Maximilian Gunther, Nick Cassidy
Carlin Ryan Tveter, Alessio Lorandi
Van Amersfoort Racing Pedro Piquet, Callum Ilott, Harrison Newey
Kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport David Beckmann, Mikkel Jensen
Motopark Sergio Sette Camara, Niko Kari, Joel Eriksson
Fortec Motorsports
Team West-Tec
Double R Racing
HitechGP George Russell, Nikita Mazepin, Ben Barnicoat
ThreeBond with T-Sport Arjun Maini
DAV Racing
Jo Zeller Racing