Home Formula 3GB3 Carlin’s Nazim Azman fastest in BRDC British F3 test at Snetterton

Carlin’s Nazim Azman fastest in BRDC British F3 test at Snetterton

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Nazim Azman led a Carlin one-two over Kaylen Frederick in the first pre-season BRDC British Formula 3 test at Snetterton.

The Malaysian, who was a race-winner in the championship with Chris Dittmann Racing in 2019 and will likely race for Carlin this year, was the fastest man in the fourth and final test session of the day on the circuit’s ‘300’ layout.

Double R Racing’s Louis Foster set the pace in the morning’s first session, although none of the laptimes were truly representative of the updates Tatuus car’s dry weather pace, and CDR duo Jordan Dempsey and Josh Skelton sat out the session entirely.

Kiern Jewiss lowered the pace for Douglas Motorsport in the second morning session, but CDR still didn’t take to the track.

The pace improved even more in the first afternoon session, with Frederick outpacing Lanan Racing’s Piers Prior by 0.007 seconds.

Azman was the slowest of the three Carlin drivers, behind another expected team signing in Brazilian driver? Guilherme Peixoto, but got to work in the one hour break before the final session of the day and returned to track with a pace advantage.

His best lap, set with 10 minutes left of the day, was 0.345s quicker than Frederick’s best effort a few minutes later, while Prior belied his single-seater inexperience to set a lap good enough for third.

The CDR drivers failed to catch up from their late start, with British Formula 4 graduate Josh Skelton 1.623s off the pace and Chinese F4 champion Dempsey a further 0.158s behind.


Test results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Nazim Azman Carlin 1m43.732s
2 Kaylen Frederick Carlin +0.345s
3 Piers Prior Lanan Racing +0.465s
4 Kiern Jewiss Douglas Motorsport +0.470s
5 Bart Horsten Lanan Racing +0.502s
6 Guilherme Peixoto Carlin +0.618s
7 Ulysse De Pauw Douglas Motorsport +0.793s
8 Benjamin Pedersen Double R Racing +0.801s
9 Louis Foster Double R Racing +1.123s
10 Christian Olsen Fortec Motorsports +1.533s
11 Josh Skelton Chris Dittmann Racing +1.623s
12 Joshua Mason Lanan Racing +1.777s
13 Jordan Dempsey Chris Dittmann Racing +1.781s
14 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing +1.918s
15 Manaf Hijjawi Douglas Motorsport +2.141s