Home Formula 3FIA F3 Championship Top 25 cars covered by a second in final morning of FIA F3 test

Top 25 cars covered by a second in final morning of FIA F3 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: FIA Formula 3 Championship

Charouz Racing System’s Niko Kari set the fastest time in the morning session of day three of the FIA Formula 3 Championship test in Bahrain.

The best laps for most drivers were set during the middle of the session, as the grid concentrated on long-run performance in the daytime heat. With no improvements in the final 40 minutes, this left the top 25 cars being covered by 0.967 seconds.

Hitech GP looked the strongest team when its drivers were released for fast laps, with Red Bull juniors Liam Lawson and Dennis Hauger 0.048s and 0.214s behind Kari respectively. Between them was Prema’s Logan Sargeant.

Trident’s Devlin DeFrancesco got the most running in with 39 laps, one more than Hitech’s Max Fewtrell, while Jenzer Motorsport’s Matteo Nannini and Campos Racing’s Sophia Floersch both set less than 20 laps and spent a majority of their time in the garages.

While he was 4.068s off the pace and almost two-and-a-half seconds slower than the next slowest driver, Campos’s Alex Peroni had one of the more consistent long-run performances and clocked 38 laps.


Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Niko Kari Charouz Racing System 1m46.606s 36
2 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m46.654s +0.048s 37
3 Logan Sargeant Prema 1m46.786s +0.180s 33
4 Dennis Hauger Hitech GP 1m46.820s +0.214s 37
5 Jake Hughes HWA Racelab 1m46.861s +0.255s 37
6 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz Racing System 1m46.877s +0.271s 36
7 Sebastian Fernandez ART Grand Prix 1m46.945s +0.339s 26
8 Clement Novalak Carlin 1m46.987s +0.381s 33
9 Max Fewtrell Hitech GP 1m47.028s +0.422s 38
10 Lirim Zendeli Trident 1m47.038 +0.432s 22
11 Igor Fraga Charouz Racing System 1m47.118s +0.512s 37
12 Richard Verschoor MP Motorsport 1m47.216s +0.610s 24
13 Jack Doohan HWA Racelab 1m47.224s +0.618s 36
14 Devlin DeFrancesco Trident 1m47.227s +0.621s 39
15 David Schumacher Charouz Racing System 1m47.296s +0.690s 38
16 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.310s +0.704s 30
17 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m47.320s +0.714s 35
18 Olli Caldwell Trident 1m47.354s +0.748s 32
19 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m47.441s +0.835s 31
20 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m47.456s +0.850s 27
21 Matteo Nannini Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.493s +0.887s 17
22 Sophia Floersch Campos Racing 1m47.504s +0.898s 19
23 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m47.534s +0.928s 25
24 Bent Viscaal MP Motorsport 1m47.552s +0.946s 26
25 Frederik Vesti Prema 1m47.573s +0.967s 32
26 Cameron Das Carlin 1m47.671s +1.065s 28
27 Lukas Dunner MP Motorsport 1m47.678s +1.072s 20
28 Enaam Ahmed Carlin 1m47.801s +1.195s 29
29 Alessio Deledda Campos Racing 1m48.313s +1.707s 21
30 Alex Peroni Campos Racing 1m50.674s +4.068s 38